10.12.4 Resolution Issues Cinema HD Display

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jazzbeaunola, Mar 30, 2017.

  1. jazzbeaunola macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    N'Awlins
    #1
    Just updated to 10.12.4 on my 2013 6-core Mac Pro with D700s and 16 GB RAM. I have the 30" Cinema HD monitor, which still works beautifully. It's connected to the MacPro via Apple's Apple Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link Display Adapter. Since the update, the monitor is only working at 1280 X 800 and not the 2560 X 1600 it's capable of. I've rebooted, reset the NVRAM, held down the option key in the Display System Preference (only reveals the possibility of even lower resolutions). I called AppleCare, and am being told that my monitor is now obsolete and that my choices are to keep using it at half-rez or purchase a new monitor. Anyone else encountered this problem or have suggestions for a solution? The thought of giving up this gorgeous 30" display makes me cringe for a number of reasons!
     
  2. tygrubb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #2
    Back when I was using an even older Cinema Display (had to use a $300 ADB to DVI adaptor) and lost the USB functionality after an update, Apple said the same thing....buy a new one. Searched online, read about copying the kernel extensions from the older version of the OS to the new one using the KEXT Utility app. Worked perfectly.

    That was just for USB support. Have no idea if that would work for your issue.

    Connect your monitor up to a machine that hasn't upgraded yet. Go into System Profiler, into the system extensions list, and try to identify the kext associated with your display. Then copy file to the System/Library/Extensions folder on your upgraded system and run KEXT Utility (Google it) to set the proper permissions.

    It may or may not work, no guarantees. Be sure to make a copy of the original on your upgraded machine in case the new (well, old one) causes problems.
     
  3. jazzbeaunola thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    N'Awlins
    #3
    Thanks for the suggestion....I'll look into this....sounds like it's worth a shot.....just hate to give up this gorgeous monitor!
     
  4. tygrubb, Mar 30, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2017

    tygrubb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #4
    Just saw this on another forum I frequent:

     
  5. richmlow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #5
    @jazzbeaunola,


    Hmm....that's strange! You should be able to run your set-up at full resolution.

    I have my 2013 4-core Mac Pro (with D300s) and 12GB RAM hooked up to the 23" Apple Cinema HD Display. This works with macOS 10.12.3 and well as with the new macOS 10.12.4. It is connected via a Thunderbolt 2 port on the Mac and is running at the full 1920 x 1200 resolution with no problems.

    Unfortunately, I have no helpful advice for you. Best of luck in diagnosing your problem.


    Sincerely,
    richmlow



     
  6. jazzbeaunola thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    N'Awlins
    #6
    Yes, I saw that possible solution when I began researching.....unfortunately I was unable to find /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist on my updated machine. Thanks for replying....most appreciated!
     
  7. tygrubb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
  8. jazzbeaunola thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    N'Awlins
    #8
    Will do! Thanks!
     

Share This Page