10.14.1 Graphics Issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SamPotts, Oct 30, 2018.

  1. SamPotts macrumors regular

    SamPotts

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Is anyone else having issues with 10.14.1 effecting the graphics of some apps on a nMP? Firefox is completely unusable and is now just a black screen (I've tried re-installing, using the Nightly build etc). Zoom also has issues with sharing a whole display and will cover the display in a grey box. Is it just me? I thought I'd ask before I go to the effort of re-installing. It all started with 10.14.1 beta 3. I thought in the public release, it'd all be sorted. I did report these bugs through the feedback tool.

    Posted here because my 2012 MBP is fine and doesn't show these issues. Just my 2013 Mac Pro.
     
  2. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Might help if you shed some light on the configuration of your nMP, and what display you're using. For the record, I have not seen this issue, but I'm on a 2010 cMP w/ RX 580.
     
  3. SamPotts thread starter macrumors regular

    SamPotts

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    Fairly "stock" base nMP; quad core, 48GB, 1TB SSD, D300s (both replaced under warranty). I no longer get the crashes etc associated with the other graphics issues, this is different. I don't think it's the display either (both do it) but 2 27" thunderbolt displays. I'm certain it's software (possibly something with Metal?) as it started with 10.14.1 beta 3.
     
  4. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #4
    Yeah, don't doubt your assessment that it's software...just wondered if we might be able to determine if there are specific sets of hardware that are common to the issue. As far as not wanting to reinstall, why don't you create a new volume (which is very easy assuming you are running APFS) and just put a fresh system on that for a quick comparison? If it does or doesn't exhibit the same symptoms, then you at least have something you can conclude to narrow down the problem.
     
  5. SamPotts thread starter macrumors regular

    SamPotts

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    Yeah, that's gotta be worth a shot. I'll give that a go later today. It could be that the upgrade went wrong somewhere along the way. I was hoping todays public release would fix it, but sadly not.
     
  6. W1SS macrumors 6502

    W1SS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #6
    Before you proceed with refreshing your Mojave installation, Google Onyx for Mojave, download and install it, run it will all maintenance options checked and it will reboot your nMP.

    Check again for the issues you experienced.. I believe some old system-related cache from your beta install is still lingering and Onyx usually takes care of such issues.
     
  7. SamPotts thread starter macrumors regular

    SamPotts

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    Hey, I just gave that a shot. I ran all the maintenance tasks but it's still the same sadly. I'll wait for a 10.14.2 beta I guess or re-install as a last resort.
     
  8. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #8
    Why not try the fresh install on a new volume/partition?? Shouldn’t take but 30-45 min, and if it makes no difference, you simply boot back to your main system and delete the test volume. Very easy in Disk Utility with APFS, but ask if you’re unsure.
     
  9. SamPotts thread starter macrumors regular

    SamPotts

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    I'll give that a shot. I just upgraded to 10.14.2 beta 1 and it's the same so it must be something fishy.
     
  10. SamPotts thread starter macrumors regular

    SamPotts

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
    Thanks for all the replies. I tried a re-install but without a format first. That didn't help. I tried resetting SMC and PRAM but that didn't do a lot. I done some more digging and found this:

    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1493330

    I use an app called Gray (https://github.com/zenangst/Gray) to manage apps using dark/light mode and it seemed that forcing Firefox and Zoom to use light mode fixed the issues.
     

Share This Page

9 October 30, 2018