10.2 to Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by naftalim, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. naftalim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #1
    Will I have to do anything special to upgrade from 10.2 to Leopard? I plan to use an older version of Carbon Copy Cloner to back up, do a Erase and Install and then use Migration Assistant to copy over data. I will probably use any original application CDs to install Apps. I am helping a friend.

    Thanks
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    I don't know if it'll work but after using 10.2 your friend will think he's found OS heaven using Leopard, hahaha. :D
     
  3. bubblegum80 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #3
    Wow, 10.2

    Have you used Expose before?

    I think that is one of the biggest additions to any operating system in recent years.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    EXPOSÉ?! Try Spotlight, Spaces, Stacks, or (the new) Front Row. Well, the latter is reminiscent of Windows Media Center, but there are no Macs running "Mac OS X Leopard Front Row Edition 2007"
     
  5. bubblegum80 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #5
    Those features are not used all the time, like expose. They are situational.
     
  6. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #6
    please don't upgrade personal experience to upper most level. I never used it, i find VD is nicer. My linux box has that, and I found it annoying....
     
  7. bubblegum80 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #7
    If you have many applications, or web windows open, expose made it really easy to choose what you want to look at.
     
  8. naftalim thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
    I'm using Leopard on my machine, my friend has an older tower running 10. so yes, for her it will be a huge change. My install on a fairly new Alu iMac was easy, Archive and Install. On hers, it will be a bit more complicated.

     

Share This Page