10.4 on 8core desktop and macbook pro

Discussion in 'macOS' started by oleg zombat, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. oleg zombat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #1
    hi, i often travel with just my hard drives on which i have my whole system with applications (mainly logic and plugins) i boot from 10.4 on whichever computer i need to work on. i need to know if this system installed on my external hard drive (made from my g5 PPC quad) will be able to boot both the latest macbook pro and the 8core mac pro. thx oleg
     
  2. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #2
    You would need to have created the installation from an intel mac to get it to boot on one.
     
  3. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #3
    10.4 (aka Tiger) is not a universal binary. This means that you'll need two different installs: one for PPC (G3, G4, G5) and another for x86 (Xeon, C2D, etc). You cannot boot a PPC install on a x86 machine and vice-versa.
     
  4. oleg zombat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #4
    so if i prepare from an Intel macbook an external hard drive with 10.4 and my applications, that should work on the macbook pro and mac pro 8 core? but if i use the system i already set up (from my PPC) that wont work? right?
    thx again - oleg
     
  5. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #5
    maybe.

    no guarantee that the mac pro will boot from a macbook install.

    graphics drivers are different, among other things...
     
  6. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #6
    It will boot. All drivers are included in any installation.
     
  7. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    How did a 10.4 install disc include drivers for a 8-core Mac Pro that didn't even exist yet?

    For the original poster....
    New Mac Pro 8 Core and Tiger 10.4??
     
  8. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #8
    It doesn't. But once that install is updated to 10.4.11, it is able to boot the newer system.
     

Share This Page