10.4 on imac g3

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MacHappytjg, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. MacHappytjg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #1
    Im Asking if i install 10.4 on an hd then through it in my imac g3 (without FW) would it work? Will have 256mb of ram In a bit...
     
  2. jpross123 macrumors member

    jpross123

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    If its a iMac with a firewire port it will run OS 10.4. You can install it in target disk mode via firewire. Your other option is making the hard drive an external enclosure and install it, then put it in the iMac
     
  3. pistooli, Feb 19, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012

    pistooli macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Hungary
    #3
    Yes. I did similar installation for a Powerbook Lombard. Works without problems.
     
  4. macboy13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #4
    I honestly would install Mac OS X 10.3 Panther on that iMac G3 for 2 reasons

    1. It comes on CD's
    2. It runs faster on the G3
     
  5. tayloralmond macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
  6. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #6
    holy christ i made this thread like 4 years ago, i ended up getting 10.4 on, years ago i just put the hdd in a emac installed tiger and put it back it ran pretty good on the computer from what i remember for what it was. oh yeah i think this is the first time being on here from like 2-3 years ago.
     
  7. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #7
     
  8. MacHappytjg thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #8
     

Share This Page