10.5.1 Front Row version 1.0

Discussion in 'macOS' started by britpop, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. britpop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #1
    My Front Row shows with Get Info version 1.0 with an Arm Chair icon
    Does everybody have version 1.0, also whats the Open using Rosetta option?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    That is correct, Front Row should be 1.0 for Leopard. The Open with Rosetta setting means that the computer will treat the app like it is running on an older G4 or G5 system. Doing this on a new Intel will cause Front Row to act really slow and sluggish.
     
  3. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #3
    Version 1.0, yep.

    Open with Rosetta means 'run the powerpc code' rather than the native Intel code. It's there for all universal apps. No reason you'd want to really unless you were testing something.
     
  4. Neo110503 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #4
    I have 2.0....... I opened it and went into settings and saw that the SW version was 2.0(229).
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    From the Get info ... screen it is 1.0, but when you open it it says 2.0(229) under settings.
     
  6. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #6
    I bet the launcher app is 1.0, the interface itself 2.0. Remember this is, for the most part, the same interface for TV. But with TV one does not need app icon and the ability to launch it. Front Row is more like Time Machine, less so much an actual app but an interface. Need to shift paradigms a bit.
     
  7. jacg macrumors 6502a

    jacg

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I used to use Front Row in Tiger, in the days when it didn't actually stop iTunes. Now i just fire up iTunes in full screen mode.
     
  8. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    The frontend is 1.0 for Leopard and the backend is 2.0.

    What's interesting is the version plist :

    <key>BuildVersion</key>
    <string>1</string>
    <key>CFBundleShortVersionString</key>
    <string>1.0</string>
    <key>CFBundleVersion</key>
    <string>1.0</string>
    <key>ProjectName</key>
    <string>Dock</string>
    <key>SourceVersion</key>
    <string>5880000</string>
     
  9. dirtskier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    #9
    agreed... what's up with that anyway? and is there any way to access "preferences" for front row to modify the layout at all? I have to say, I liked Tiger's front row a lot better.
     
  10. adamfishercox macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #10
    Unforetunately, no, but I've come to terms with it. I never use it anymore :D
     

Share This Page