10.5.4 - Any Issues?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by InLikeALion, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #1
    10.5.3 broke some important things like saving over the network for CS3 files, and didn't fix the CS3 with Spaces issues.

    10.5.4 purported to fix these problems affecting us designers. Post your findings here. Are these problems fixed? Have new ones surfaced?
     
  2. Phormic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #2
    I too would love to know if any lingering CS3 issues (particularly InDesign) with PowerPC Macs running Leopard have finally been fixed.
     
  3. Matt T macrumors regular

    Matt T

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
  4. pelsar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    israel
    #4
    so far so good...

    downloaded yesterday...though i dont use spaces and my indesign i got working previously.....i havent noticed anything going 'haywire" yet....

    (updated indesign as well)
     
  5. DELINDA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #5
    tablet gone

    I lost my tablet can't locate it . Any suggestions ?
     
  6. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #6
    What?

    The network saving issues seem to be mostly gone, but I've still had it happen once or twice. The stupid Spaces/CS3 issue is still there. Not every time, but enough to be annoying.

    I haven't noticed any new problems.
     
  7. Raymie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Maricopa County, Arizona
    #7
    Ever since the last days of 10.5.3, Photoshop has quit randomly - in the text mode, of all places.

    This has continued to 10.5.4. Annoying behavior.
     
  8. InLikeALion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #8
    Could it be that you've developed some font corruption issues? Have you cleared your font cache, etc? Seems like a possibility, since it is with the text tool that it consistently crashes.

    It has? That's no good, as almost our entire set of workflows include saving over a network. Can you provide any additional details?

    I can confirm that.

    I believe I saw you post that on the main "10.5.4 is out" thread (or at least someone did). However, I upgraded my home machine last night and I my Wacom Intuos3 is still functioning great. I did the combo update on it. Could you give us more info on what "lost" means and what you've tried to fix it?
     
  9. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #9
    I save to a network drive 99% of the time. About once a day, I get a weird message telling me that I can't save because the file is in use, or it doesn't exist, or some other nonsense, and the file actually deletes from the server.

    BUT, since the file I'm working on is still open, all I have to do is hit cmd-S again and it opens the "Save As" dialog and I save it again. It's more annoying than harmful, at least for me.
     
  10. InLikeALion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #10
    And at least it doesn't let you save and close like before. We would save and not know until opening the file later that it had corrupted. Stinks that there is still a problem, but a lot less harmful now.
     
  11. DELINDA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #11
    lost tablet

    " Could you give us more info on what "lost" means and what you've tried to fix ." I have an old ET 0405-U . It would seem that when I loaded leopard , I no longer have a working wacom . The permissions I had set do not exist anymore . I must apologize , all this computer stuff is a big challenge for me and there are times I do forget where I post .
     

Share This Page