10.5.7 Cube to new UMBP G1 TDM clone boots!!!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by cube, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. cube thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #2
    Well, it seems one does accumulate a lot of crap by countless *upgrades*, because I see the same kind of sluggishness/beachballing at startup/login as in the Cube.

    Because the clone is 10.5.7 and the install disks are 10.5.6, I cannot overwrite install, to check if that cleans up anything.

    Erase and Install.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    It's not surprising. What does version and build ships on the new hardware? The 10.5.6 should support it as well.
     
  3. cube thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #4
    I didn't check what version comes with the hardware. It's a 2009 G1 (2.66). It's installing now from the bundled disk.

    I also have the 10.5.6 retail, which gave no complaints when checking if I could overwrite.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I wonder what the model identifier spits out now since they're all called MacBook Pros now.
     
  5. cube thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    It's not that surprising. I've built Mac Pro images back in the Tiger days using Intel Mac mini discs.
     
  7. cube thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #8
    I cloned a PPC machine to Intel, that's the news.
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Leopard is universal. PowerPC 74xx to Nehalem.
     
  9. cube thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #10
    Who said the system is Universal? It could just as well install different files for PPC and Intel.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    Once again I've imaged PowerPC and Intel systems from the same Leopard image.
     
  11. cube thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #12
    Well, that is not common knowledge. One of the reasons I didn't buy a new machine for 9 years is because I didn't want to deal with the hassle of manually transferring/reinstalling whatever is scattered around the disk, and ensuring I don't miss anything.

    Do all the drivers get installed on every machine?

    Is there any way to clean up the system without performing a clean install?
     

Share This Page