10.5 on 2010 Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Doc69, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. Doc69 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #1
    Is it possible to install 10.5 on a 2.4 Core 2 Duo Macbook from 2010 (Version 7,1)? It came with 10.6.

    A friend of mine wants to downgrade so he can use his old M-Box with Pro Tools. The M-Box is not compatible with 10.6.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    It's possible, but it probably won't run well.
     
  4. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #4
    If you completely erase the hard drive it will work.
     
  5. Doc69 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #5
    Thanks guys for your replies. I'm however a little bit confused as all the replies are different. So in order to know who's right, it would be great if someone who has actually done it would post the results.
     
  6. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #6
    It is just me, but I learn not from other guys experience but from my own experience, why not open it up back your files with TM, go ahead and install Leopard on it. You can always go back to SL if you want since you have everything backed up on a TM.
     
  7. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #7
    lowendmac.com has the minimum system for that Macbook rev listed at 10.6.3.

    I'm not sure what can be done with hackery, but I've always thought that Apple put in firmware so that the lowest OS any particular Mac can go, is the one it's pre-installed with.

    So my opinion is that you won't be able to load 10.5 on it.
     
  8. gumblecosby, Dec 22, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011

    gumblecosby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #8
    There are no drivers for your nvidia 320m gpu on 10.5 unfortunately. The last MacBook gpu that was supported was the 9400m. Using mac so x without gpu acceleration is not worth it. Pro tools mbox will work without gpu acceleration though
    Evidence - http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=18736

    Edit

    Your multitouch trackpad may also have no drivers.
    No harm in trying as long as you know what your doing.
     
  9. iMacC2D, Dec 22, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017

Share This Page