10.6.8 to 10.9.5 -> Win7 BootCamp is no longer accessible ??

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by UKevin, Sep 27, 2014.

1. UKevin macrumors newbie

Hi,

I never actually used Mac OS on this MBP because I'm used to windows and had no interest in Mac OS (which was a complete mystery to me).
    As a sysAdmin, I've recently started to look into Linux so I figured I'd give Mac OS a proper try. 5 minutes after having booted into Mac OS a pop-up notified me I could update to Mavericks for free so I accepted. I admit that right before installing the update I wondered what would become of my win 7 partition but I figured that since BootCamp is a standard feature that comes with all Mac OS based computers it would be fully supported and I wouldn't run into any issues so I went ahead and launched the install (which took the little worries I had away when it prompted me to confirm the right partition was checked by default).

So eventually, Mavericks was ready and I liked it much better than 10.6.8 right away and ended up not booting back into windows for a while. I have several files on the windows partition that I needed to go update so I rebooted and it should've sent me straight to windows since that is what it had always been set to do except it didn't. So I turned it off again and kept the right alt key down so it would send me to the "boot menu" which it did. Trouble is there was no windows 7 option but instead a "10.9.5 Recovery" disk and the regular Mac OS disk.

Checking the disk manager I can confirm that the partition is still there and called disk04. I can't mount it (it doesn't do anything when I click the "mount" button, it doesn't even give me an error).

Any help is greatly appreciated, if you give me commands to run I'll do so as soon as I read your message.

Thanks in advance.