10.6 Translucent menu bar is fully translucent until I click it?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jace88, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. jace88 macrumors regular

    jace88

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    I'm sure I read this issue somewhere before but can't seem to find it. Basically when I boot up Mac OS X 10.6 on my 11" MBA, the menu bar (with translucent box checked in the Desktop settings) is wholly translucent... only when I click once, does it suddenly become partially opaque (i.e. the intended translucent effect). Any ideas what's driving this odd behaviour?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    That happens here too, on both of my machines. It's "normal" (ie. not intended, but not unheard of either).
     
  3. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #3
    Happens now and then (quite rare), seems to occur when apps quit in a particular way. Switching to another app clears it up for me.
     
  4. mjsmke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Have you tried reparing disk permissions in Disk Utility? Ive never had this problem before.
     
  5. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #5
    I have Mac OS X v10.6.6 and don't have a translucent box in desktop settings, for my 13" Macbook Pro. Is this something special to the MBA or something?
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    No, all systems should have that option. It was added in 10.5.2 if memory serves me correctly.
     
  7. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #7
    Well, it's not in my dock preferences.
     
  8. Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Should be in 'Change Desktop Background'.
     
  9. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #9
    There is no 'Change Desktop Background' in Dock Preferences.



    UPDATE: My mistake, this is a menu setting not a dock setting. For some reason I was thinking this thread was about the dock. I'm an idiot, sorry.
     
  10. Kenndac macrumors 6502

    Kenndac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    #10
    It's not in Dock preferences, it's at the bottom of "Desktop & Screensaver".
     

Share This Page