10.7 - 10.8 server HD space used

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by ^squirrel^, Aug 19, 2014.

  1. ^squirrel^ macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi,

    Just upgraded 4 servers form 10.7-10.8. One of them is our Mail server and oddly the HD space used has jumped a fair amount. Is this normal?

    [​IMG]

    (10.8 on the left)
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    You probably have migrated data left hanging around on the disk of the updated server. Is there a "Previous Systems" directory at the root level of the disk?
     
  3. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Yeah i did look at that, but that's only 350mb.
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    Then look for /Library/Server/Migrated.
     
  5. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    That's only 139mb.

    Ran Disk Inventory X to see if that can find it and the biggest file it can find is 27gb. Probably can't see all folders as our mailstore must be around 200gb.
     
  6. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    I've searched in all the places i can think of, but still can't find where this 100+GB is being stored?

    If anyone can help, i would be very grateful!
     
  7. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Narrowed it down to library/server.

    Crashplan is calculating 400gb+, so i know the stray files are in there somewhere.
     
  8. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    In Library/server i found 3 hidden directories that might be the file with the larger amounts of data

    .localized
    cache
    logs

    all are locked files due to permissions.

    I'm in the process of cloning this server and i'll try and remove them or tweak the permissions to see if i can calculate.
     

Share This Page