10.9.3 update brings 1280 x 720 resolution to Thunderbolt Display

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Brandon263, May 16, 2014.

  1. Brandon263 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Location:
    Beaumont, CA
    #1
    Just thought you might be interested to know that the new Mavericks update brought a new 1280 x 720 scaled resolution option for the Thunderbolt Display.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    The normal 1280x720 is no big deal, the real good one is the HiDPI option.

    Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 15.06.45.png
     
  3. Brandon263 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Location:
    Beaumont, CA
    #3
    Wait, how did you get so many options? The Thunderbolt Display only has four :-(


     
  4. h9826790, May 17, 2014
    Last edited: May 17, 2014

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Use Quartz debug.

    Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 15.46.29.png

    My display is the old 27" LED cinema display, not the thunderbolt one, but should be the same in this matter.

    I am not sure if it's graphic card related, but Mavericks makes my 27" Apple cinema display able to run with all these resolutions even thought the resolution beyond 2560x1440.

    Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 15.34.24.png

    Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 15.34.02.jpg
     
  5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #5
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Yes it does. As my 2nd attachment in the last post. The screen is actually running at 5120x2880 resolution.
     
  7. Klack3er, May 22, 2014
    Last edited: May 22, 2014

    Klack3er macrumors newbie

    Klack3er

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    @ h9826790

    I think its maybe different with the Thunderbolt Display that i have and 10.9.3. What kinda of mac do you use? Are you using 10.9.3? I already posted this on a different thread but maybe this one is more fitting, ill copy and paste it:

    I use a Macbook Pro Retina 15 with the NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M (Late 2013) and a Apple Thunderbolt Display when im at home... with 10.9.2 + SwitchresX i always used 1920x1080 (HiDPI) and it was perfect for me. After updating to 10.9.3 i thought its maybe the problem of the Nvidia Card, but when u all have the same prob, even on different macs like the imac aso, then it must be the update. After the update to 10.9.3 i still could see and use some (now different then before) HiDPI Settings, so HiDPI was still enabled, but they were all not fitting for the Thunderbolt Display and created black frames around the workspace or were ridiculous low like 720x450!
    Did apple change the drivers maybe?

    My eyes are not the best and the native 2560x1440 resolution of the 27inch Thunderbolt Display is just unusable for me because of the small fonts. I would love to use the space, but the small texts are a no go for my eyes... I tried to enlarge the fonts or zoom in and so on but the menus wont become bigger, so there was no use.

    I tried for 2 days with some tricks or other programs similar to SwitchresX, but nothing worked. Now im back to 10.9.2 and its fine again for now. But of course this situation is also kinda ****** because now i cant install mac os x updates anymore...

    Would be great if anyone has a clue what happened with this update and why resolutions that worked before like a charme (like the here discussed 1920x1080hidpi) suddenly are not working anymore, even if its the same mac + same display. There must be a solution for this, im just not technical enough to find it out.

    Edit: And By the way, i can see the 'retina' resolutuion for the Thunderbolt Display of 1280x720 HiDPI (exactly half of 2560x1440) and click on it, but then nothing happens. The resolution stays exactly the same and asks if its okay. Doesnt matter if i say yes or no then. So even this doesnt work
     

Share This Page