100% CPU usage, Dashboard client is the culprit

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Fredstar, Dec 15, 2007.

  1. Fredstar macrumors 6502a

    Fredstar

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Near London
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Really annoying problem with leopard/my macbook black...the fans are running at full speed constantly as Dashboardclient keeps freezing and using up 100% of my cpus. I don't even have any widgets open and have restarted, repaired permissions. Seen this is a problem suffered by a few, anyone know of any fixes?

    Cheers,
    Fred
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    If you have a file named com.apple.dashboard.client.plist in your Preferences folder, then drag it to the Desktop and reboot.
     
  3. Fredstar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fredstar

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Near London
    #3
    Thanks so much mate, fixed it! Legend!
    Was driving me nuts
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  5. nonniragg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #5
    ????

    then drag it to the Desktop and reboot. what do you mean by reboot ing it ?

    I don't understand that ?

    please help me :D
     
  6. Ntombi macrumors 68030

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #6
    1. Drag that file out of the Preferences folder and onto your Desktop.

    2. Restart your computer.
     
  7. LoweTriumph89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #7
    What do I do with the plist file

    Just did this fix. what do i do with the plist file after i restart

    works perfectly btw.
     
  8. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #8
    You can delete it. .plist that are in your preferences folder are recreated on reboot (restart) if OS X doesn't see it in the folder.

    It should be noted that deleting .plist files is a very useful troubleshooting technique that has almost no risk. If you have an application that is behaving abnormally, check to see if there is a corresponding .plist in the preference folder and move it to your desktop and restart.
     
  9. BarbR7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #9
    Thank you to all of you who kindly share your knowledge!

    Thank you to all of you who kindly share your knowledge! Had that Dashboard Client problem. I always like to check with those more knowledgeable before deleting a .plist. Good advice to put it on the desktop so if something really unwanted happens you can always restore your .plist file.
     
  10. SgtP3pp3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Honduras
    #10
    im new to mac os, where can i find the Preferences folder?

    im running OS X 10.6.7 and im having Dashboard Client running one of the cores like mad... I dont know what might have caused it, but i suspect it started happening after i installed the iStat nano widget.

    I needed to stop it to conserve battery power for some presentations, so i quit it from Activity Monitor. But i dont want it to happen again.

    Help?
     
  11. SgtP3pp3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Honduras
    #11
    Scratch that,

    i just found it.

    Google knows everything :D
     
  12. MacCoug macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
    Dashboard Client quits notice

    I've had recent problems with my computer taking forever to boot up. A couple of days back it would boot up after about 30 seconds it now takes upwards of 1/2 an hour. I've tried disc utilities and virus scans to no avail. When it finally boots up (after 1/2 hour) I keep getting the message "DashboardClient quit unexpectedly. Mac OS X and other applications are not affected". Any suggestions would be welcomed.
     
  13. jeska macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    #13
    Thank you thank you thank you for this. I was having similar slooooooow loading problems and the Dashboard client was also the culprit.

    Gratzi!
     
  14. Flybye macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #14
    Thanks guys! Although mine wasn't gobbling up cpu resources, it was taking up around 200MB or so of ram.

    Deleted that puppy and all is good. :D
     
  15. Krismo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    #15
    Problem with dashboard client

    I have the same problem but the file was no where to be found... So i got rid of all the widgets and quit the process and it seemed to work...

    Is it normal that the file didn't exist?
     
  16. helpy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #16
    Re: Problem with dashboard client

    Yes, it's probably normal. There are actually two 'Preferences' folders that are active for every user. One for system-wide preferences and one for individual user-level preferences.

    On my computer the system-wide preferences folder is located at:
    /Library/Preferences

    And the user-level preferences folder is located at:
    /Users/%username%/Library/Preferences
    NOTE: Make sure you have enabled the display of hidden folders/files to see the 'Library' folder in your user's home directory.

    TL;DR: On my computer the com.apple.dashboard.client.plist file was located in the user-level preferences folder. Moving it to the desktop (ie. deleting/disabling it) fixed the problem with the Dashboard / Dashboard widgets.

    Thanks to the earlier posters for the fix! :)
     
  17. thisrocks macrumors regular

    thisrocks

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #17
    I haven't tried this yet but I have a feeling it will work - Just waiting on an App Store update to finish so I can reboot then.

    There was recently an update to the PEMDAS Dashboard widget, and I have a feeling this preference file still has references to the old version which no longer exists.

    Main reason for my post:
    A tip for young players, if you don't want to keep hidden files/filers enabled but still access YOUR Library: With hidden files/folders on, make an alias (shortcut) to it, and then you can turn off hidden files/folders off. This isn't a tip I've come across anywhere on sites that tell you how to find YOUR Library folder.
     

Share This Page