1066mhz RAM in the new 2011 Macbook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kgallag1, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. kgallag1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Dorval, Quebec
    #1
    Hi, all

    Anyone know if there would be a problem putting 8 gigs of 1066mhz RAM in the new macbook pro (refreshed this year)?

    I've already bought 8 gigs, have it running in my current macbook pro, but want to upgrade to the newest model. I figured if I could use the 1066mhz memory, I'd save myself a bit of money

    Thanks!
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    It should work fine but at 1066MHz. It is not something that you would notice though so getting the extra RAM is more important that the speed.
     
  3. reggie23x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #3
    8gb of 1333mhz memory

    you can buy another 8gb of 1333mhz of memory for $100-120.... you aren't saving much...
     
  4. whyzdom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    #4
    You could just buy an 8g 1333 kit from Newegg for 83 dollars... I'm all about saving money, but not in this case.
     
  5. oakie macrumors 6502

    oakie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    seattle
    #5
    this is bad info.

    it's not compatible with 1066MHz RAM. on the new 2011 MBPs, you must use 1333MHz RAM.

    older MBPs that use 204-pin 1066MHz DDR3 RAM can use the 1333MHz stuff of the 2011 MBP, but not the other way around.
     
  6. dime21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #6
    Yuck, why?? You want to drop thousands of dollars on a new MBP, and then you want to reduce its performance with old slow memory? Huh??? Why bother buying the new MBP then?
     
  7. pricej636 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    Id be really surprised if this was true. Usually a machine will use slower ram as long as it was the same pin-out, but obviously at the lower speed.
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    No, you don't. The memory controller supports both, 1066MHz and 1333MHz DDR3. Usually you cannot use higher clocked RAM but lower clocked RAM will nearly always work.
     
  9. oakie macrumors 6502

    oakie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    seattle
    #9
    no, you can downclock faster RAM. but the controller cant always downstep to accommodate slower RAM.

    and in this case, the controller used cannot downstep to accommodate slower RAM.
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
  11. rmitchell248 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Liebsthal, Germany
    #11
    I can't get behind you on this one
     
  12. kgallag1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Dorval, Quebec
    #12
    1066mhz memory

    The only reason I wanted to know is I'm certain that the difference in real world performance between 1066mhz and 1333mhz for memory is effectively non-existent (maybe a few points in benchmarks), but I already own the 8GB memory and I have the original 4gb memory from my macbook pro. As such, I had thought to simply use what I've already paid for. If this was not an option, I'd just buy new memory and be done with it.
     
  13. dime21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #13
    While you're downgrading your whole machine to older slower memory, you should also swap out the hard drive. Use a 4200 rpm 20 GB drive from 2003, that would be awesome.
     
  14. oakie macrumors 6502

    oakie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    seattle
    #15
    it also doesnt mean the EFI is capable of recognizing every feature the memory controller offers.

    if the 2011 MBP is capable of downstepping to accommodate slower RAM, it would be a first as Apple has never allowed that in the past.
     
  15. rmitchell248 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Liebsthal, Germany
    #16
    Don't pay attention to them. Your 1066 mem will not make a real big difference in noticeable speed and if it's just temporary your doing the right thing. Don't strap yourself over a computer its just not smart or worth it. Keep in mind you could also sell the ram now for 60-70 and then buy new for 100 and be doing alright.
     
  16. rmitchell248 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Liebsthal, Germany
    #17
    Sorry, Mac pro can do it:). I stuck some 1066 in my 6 core 1333 for a few weeks while I waited for my ram to come in the post
     

Share This Page