1080p vs i

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gregt, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. gregt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #1
    I am using a MacBook Pro running 10.6.4 with 2.66 Duo processor, 4GB RAM
    I am planning on using final cut express to edit video. I am considering a camcorder that runs1080p (panasonic tm700k). Is 1080p going to be too much to handle for my dual processor machine?
     
  2. TopHatPlus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    #3
    hey, your machine should be able to handle it fine, i edited ALOT of 720p video on a 2.13 ghz c2d with 2 gb of 667 mh ddr2 ram in a first gen macbook. So being you are running a bigger system you should be good, it will take a while for the video to render and export and all that but your dealling with some pretty big files.

    1080i = 540p

    the i means that it is only showing you half of the lines so 720 is a higher resolution then 1080i.
     
  3. jlw2387 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    No, 1080i still has twice the width as compared to 540p.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    "i" is short for interlaced, thus one has 1080 vertical lines, just that they alternate, and it is surely not 540p.
     
  5. LinuxHelp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #6
  6. acedickson macrumors 6502a

    acedickson

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    ATL
    #7
    That's commonly mistaken by so many people though.

    The best way I explain 1080p vs i is both have 1080 lines of resolution, progressive refreshes every line while displaying video and interlaced refreshes every second line.

    Interlaced vs Progressive
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    What is commonly mistaken?
    The fact, that 1080i is using alternate fields and provides the same resolution as 1080p and is NOT 540p?

    I know, that 1080i is not the same quality as 1080p, especially with fast moving objects, which your link relied on, but it is more than 540p or 576i.
    http://www.digitalphotographywriter.com/2010/08/hd-1080p-vs-1080i-videos-progressive.html
     
  8. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Yeah 1080i60 has similar overall resolution to 1080p30.
    This camera the OP has however is 1080p60, I doubt you will be able to edit it at true 60 progressive frames a second at 1080 without a professional program like final cut pro or avid. I'm a FCP user so I'm not 100% on this but FCE will likely put it into a 1080i60 or 1080p30 timeline, you'll lose the progressive resolution if it's 1080i60 or you'll lose the smooth motion/framerate if it's 1080p30.
     
  9. acedickson macrumors 6502a

    acedickson

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    ATL
    #10
    It's commonly mistaken by people like jlw2387, not you, that 1080i is 540p. I was agreeing with your post.
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    Ah, I misunderstood. Thanks.
     

Share This Page