11.6" MBA & Call of Duty 4

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by hleewell, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. hleewell macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #1
    In the MBA official website, it is indicated that 11.6 incher can play Call of Duty 4 at twice the speed of a 9400M chip. The highest spec for the 11.6" MBA is 1.6Ghz. Is this possible?
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Seems a bit outlandish considering the specs COD4 requires.
     
  3. bchreng macrumors 65816

    bchreng

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #3
    The benchmarks here look promising. Looks like the scores are mostly from MBs and MBPs with 2.4GHz C2Ds and higher. The scores from that site however are likely from a Windows partition though. OSX scores might be a bit worse.
     
  4. niuniu macrumors 68020

    niuniu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    A man of the people. The right sort of people.
    #4
    Wouldn't believe anything one way or the other until I saw some footage. Looking forward to next week when reviewers start showcasing what it can (and can't) do..
     
  5. bchreng macrumors 65816

    bchreng

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #5
    Until that footage materializes, here's a link to some videos of what to expect.
     
  6. hleewell thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #6
    Technology marches on! That's a Macbook 13" they were using to play Crysis with nVidia 320 card. This looks very promising indeed :D
     
  7. DiamondGCoupe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #7
    It may play the games but FPS will decrease significantly after a few minutes (once it gets warm). I'm barely able to play TF2 and SC2 on low specs on a MBP with 4GB RAM.
     
  8. acastic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8
    Issues with SC2? It plays great on my 13" MBP with 4GB of RAM.
     
  9. bchreng macrumors 65816

    bchreng

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #9
    What settings and resolutions are you guys running SC2 at?
     
  10. Cat5e macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #10
    COD isn't as CPU intensive as other game. I've played all of the latest COD games on a 1.3ghz Pentium dual-core processor at 30+FPS although it did have a strong graphics card.
     
  11. ippikiokami macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #11
    the 320m speed lies between a 9400m and 9600m in speed.
     
  12. acastic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #12
    1280 x 800 with mostly medium settings. played the whole single player campaign with the same settings and everything played great.
     
  13. em4nu3l macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #13
    I play online with mine no lag full res. on my 1.4ghz 2gb 11" air. After the 1.7 patch for windows/mac cross platform online, it started to get a little laggy so i had to lower the settings. But it handles cod extremely well.
     
  14. MrXiro macrumors 68040

    MrXiro

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #14
    Is the 9600 GT w/512mb RAM significantly or just slightly better than the 9600m?

    I tried Portal 2 on my MBA 11.6 inch, 1.4ghz, 2mb RAM. It was crawling... though I should have turned my Magic Mouse off in retrospect... anyway... deleted it and Steam immediately. That machine is just not meant for any gaming.
     
  15. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #15
    Lack of RAM probably.

    COD6 runs smoothly at native/ultra settings on my ult. 11" Air.
     
  16. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #16
    Are you referring to black ops under windows? Now this I have to see....

    Also, since there is no "Ultra" setting, are you using vsync, AA, ect?

    If you are claiming that you can run this, or WAW with these settings, please provide the driver, overclocking clocks, and or any other tweaks you may be using to slim down the games footprint on the system.
     
  17. Acronyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #17
    I've actually found it to be a rather potent little casual gaming computer, it just depends on the game. I have the same configuration as yours except with 4GB of RAM, and I've played through a few modern games on it without a problem. Right now I'm going through Mass Effect 2 on it and it plays perfectly at native resolution. So far the only game I tried that was unplayable was Assassin's Creed II.
     
  18. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #18
    COD6 = Call of Duty 6 = Modern Warfare 2.

    Not Black Ops, not WAW (although I'm sure both will run as smoothly on the air).

    And yes, under Windows 7 Ultimate SP1.

    Using the latest nvidia drivers from laptopvideo2go not the default Boot Camp drivers.

    Neither CPU nor GPU have been overclocked.

    I have disabled the hiberfile, but done no tweaking which would dramatically affect system performance.

    Options>Video>Advanced Video: aspect_ratio auto, AA off, sync_every_frame off, shadows yes, specular_map yes, depth_of_field yes, soften_smoke_edges yes, ragdoll yes, bullet_impacts yes, texture_quality extra.

    Confused the word ultra with extra [high], sorry. Meant texture quality.

    If you do a quick search on this subforum you'll find multiple people with similar performance from their Airs.
     
  19. Xgm541 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #19
    COD4 plays fine. The MBA is good in that it doesnt overheat because of the ULV processor.
     
  20. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #20
    Unless you're running bootcamp, I wouldn't agree with you. Even more so if you happen to be running 10.6.7 on OSX, as it's already been reported to be a known issue with decreased graphic performance. And again, I'll disagree even more if you have your Air plugged into an external display.

    Don't underestimate the Air for gaming, especially at native resolution. The proof of it's pretty exceptional gaming capabilities are well documented all over these forums.
     
  21. 2IS Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #21
    Black Ops will absolutely not run smoothly on the air by any stretch of the imagination. One would have to have a VERY good imagination AND VERY low gaming standards AND be a MBA fanboy to even consider the performance playable.
     
  22. bchreng macrumors 65816

    bchreng

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #22
    I find that somewhat hard to believe. My (MBP wannabe) HP notebook with Win7, an i7 720, 4GB of RAM and ATI 5650 (w/1GB dedicated video memory) can only run it smoothly (45+ fps all the time) with most everything set to low. Levels like Tosh's mining mission on the lava planet would bring my system to a crawl if I had the shaders set to anything higher than low. 0_o
     
  23. gcans macrumors member

    gcans

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #23
    ive seen some one play it on youtube, but then of course he had a macbook air 13". they still have the same graphics cards though.
     
  24. 2IS Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #24
    And I've tried it for myself on various configurations including the MBA. It runs like crap.
     
  25. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #25
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.3; en-hk; GT-I9100 Build/GINGERBREAD) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

    All i said was mw2 runs smoothly.

    I'm going to get a copy of black ops and test it on my own Air. I'll update this thread if necessary.

    Out of curiosity, OS? Drivers?
     

Share This Page