11 in. 2011(128gb) vs 2012(64gb)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by maatae, Aug 27, 2012.

1. maatae macrumors newbie

I'm a grad student and looking for something portable to work on. Ill be mostly using it for word docs, browsing, some spreadsheets? i do have a main PC so I'll probably keep my music and movies on there. so I was wondering what you guys thought?

do you think 64 gbs is worth the sacrifice for the current gen air?

any input would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. chacolo macrumors member

I would go for a 2012 model. I use to have a 2009 MBP for my work with a 80 Gb SSD. It was more than enough for everything (still had 30 Go free).
    If you would like to put 720p movies or your music collection, the answer would be different.

3. Calot macrumors regular

He can get a USB 3.0 500GB external HDD for that, and it would be a great improvement over last year's 2.0

4. Luigi3 macrumors member

Go with 2012. You can upgrade your SSD if you want.

5. Jhowland macrumors member

Look at it this way, if you get the 2011 model then you have 128gb of internal storage and if you want to expand that you have to get either overpriced thunderbolt storage or slow USB 2.0 storage.

If you get the 2012 model then you have 64gb of internal storage and if you want to expand you have the two aforementioned options as well as USB 3.0 which is fast and affordable.

I say go with the 2012.

6. stchman macrumors 6502a

For the 2012 model, the 64GB SSD can be upgraded to 128GB for $100.

Get the 2012 MBA with a 128GB SSD.

7. erockadus macrumors newbie

newer is always better

especially when it comes to laptops

8. blanco.juanfeli macrumors newbie

Get the 2012 with 128GB, it's only a 100 dollar upgrade... Not trying to be rude, but let me tell you that if you are not able to pay those extra 100 dollars, maybe you should reconsider spending $1,000+ dollars on a laptop!

9. Mrbobb macrumors 601

My $0.02