11" MBA Without A Monitor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by B J M, Aug 12, 2011.

1. B J M macrumors member

B J M

This is my first thread/post!

I am finally making the switch from an old Windows 15.6" laptop to a brand new Mac! :D

But I'm unsure of which Notebook I want :/

I don't currently have a monitor, besides my 42 inch full HD Plasma TV that sits on my desk. I'm a university student studying management and so the computer is only for personal use not work intensive means, e.g. itunes, web browsing, word documents, youtube etc. (No photo or video editing of any kind)

So my question is as follows: is the MacBook Air 11" usable *AS A MAIN AND ONLY COMPUTER* without a monitor?

OR:

Is a 42 inch Plasma screen practical for use as a monitor/13 inch MacBook Air more favorable.

I have tried using a 10.1" netbook and found it a little cramped (then again the trackpad was abysmal and the keyboard wasn't full size, plus the air has an inch and a half larger screen).

I apologize in advance, I know there are similar posts but I couldn't find any with the exact same factors.

2. glen e macrumors 68030

I just used a MBA 11 on the road for two straight months and found it to work fine - for exactly what you plan to do.

That being said, I am home now and appreciate a bigger screen. I have my 11 hooked to a 27 monitor. So to answer your question, the 42 will work fine, but be huge...and therefore you might want something smaller - in that case as my one and only, I'd get the 13....

3. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

I've only played with them in stores (many times!) but I'd personally want an external monitor if I had the 11" MBA. And these days there are some great deals on decent external monitors.

4. Eggtastic macrumors 6502a

Eggtastic

for the uses you mentioned, it is perfect. and if you are coming from a netbook type of machine you will more than appreciate what the 11" mba has to offer.