iPad Pro 12.9 Gen II Pro LTE and this "Embedded Apple Sim"

Discussion in 'iPad' started by A.R.E.A.M., Jul 1, 2017.

  1. A.R.E.A.M. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #1
    Ipad will be here Monday.

    I have the original Pro 12.9 LTE. AS you Apple cats know, it didn't have this embedded sim. Now the Gen II model does.

    I use the 12.9 LTE Pro Gen I on a T-mo data line (unlimited-included with the TMO-One Plan). I want to use the GEN II Pro on this plan.

    I read there is an additional Sim Tray on the 12.9 Pro GenII model (is this true?), so I could just put the TMO sim in there..

    BUT...

    am I able to use the embedded Apple Sim already in the machine with my already setup TMO plan? OR is there some hoop jumping involved?

    Background: Android User. The Pro (Gen I) is my first apple device (the PRO Gen II is my second), so I don't fully understand the Apple ecosystem in regards to this Embedded Sim...
     
  2. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #2
    You should be able to just use the embedded SIM in your new iPad. I previously had the 9.7" iPad Pro with the embedded SIM, at the time of purchase I was on TMO. I simply had to call TMO and they went through the setup with me and got it up and running in no time.

    No additional SIM required until I switched to Verizon and then had to add a Verizon SIM.
     
  3. M5RahuL macrumors 68020

    M5RahuL

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #3
    I just threw in my existing TMobile SIM from the Air 2 and started using it.. Didn’t bother with the embedded one. But, either way is fine
     
  4. A.R.E.A.M. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
  5. nybear31 macrumors newbie

    nybear31

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #5
    Verizon is the only major carrier that doesn't support the embedded sim.
     
  6. seadragon Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    This is all we get in Canada with the embedded SIM. I've never even heard of these "carriers" and they're certainly not mainstream here. Totally uselesss. :mad:



    IMG_0048.jpg
     
  7. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #7
    Pop out the carrier and add a SIM card for your carrier of choice. You should then be able to set up a new plan or add your iPad to an existing one.

    In my case I just added the Verizon SIM and added it to my existing Verizon account.
     

Share This Page