12" G4 book or EEE 1000HE?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by feflower, Aug 16, 2009.

1. feflower macrumors regular

Hello folks,

I bought a MacPro a few years ago, and it serves me well. But I want a portable to do some writing outside of my home when things get noisy/crazy or claustrophobic.

I'm a grad student and I don't plan to do heavy internet usage, if at all, on the portable. I basically want a glorified typewriter where I can either email/transfer my daily writing/thoughts to my desktop.

I'm trying to decide between a used G4 12" book or the EEE 1000HE (or similar netbook). I don't want something over 12" or less than 10".

Again, I'm not looking at using any fancy word processor--even text-edit would suffice.

The most important thing for me is comfortable typing experience--and I've heard good things about 1000HE keyboard.

Another thing I'm worried about is the battery life of a G4 and its reliability at its age. The EEE boasts about 8-9 hours battery life.

But it is always good to stay with Mac and also cool to be carrying around a retro Mac (I'm in music so almost all the students have a Macs...hehe)

What would you suggest?

Thanks,
    feflower

2. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

jackiecanev2

Wirelessly posted (BB 8900: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A400 Safari/528.16)

You could hackintosh a netbook; they get better performance than the G4 iBooks....

3. feflower thread starter macrumors regular

Thought about that, but, I'm not sure if I would ever follow through with the project. I really value convenience. One of the reasons I switched to Mac was for its low maintenance. If anyone should convince me that it is not a difficult as it seems (to do and to maintain) I might consider it--again.

4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan