12" powerbook won't post

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ryannuffsaid, Oct 4, 2008.

  1. ryannuffsaid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, California
    #1
    I just bought a powerbook, and I'm trying to get it to turn on. It doesn't have a hard drive, so obviously it won't be able to get it to boot. I just want to be able to get to the flashing folder. When I press the power button, the computer does nothing, not even the fan spins. The only indication I have that it is on is the caps lock light turns on. I've tried resetting the pram, but the screen stays blank and does nothing. I don't have any ram modules in it, so it shouldn't be a ram problem. Any ideas?
     
  2. MarcBook macrumors 6502a

    MarcBook

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    #2
    I would have thought that if there's physically no drive, the machine wouldn't do anything. I think the folder icon appears if there's a problem reading the start-up volume, but I may be wrong.
     
  3. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #3
    IIRC the fan doesnt spin unless it gets hot enough. It should spin for a second right when you push the power button and then turn off.
     
  4. ryannuffsaid thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, California
    #4
    hmm... no fan on startup, but I can see the fact that I don't have a physical being a problem. I just found out that it didn't even come with the hd cable. I thought maybe if I tried target disk mode it would start up, but I got the same result
     
  5. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #5
    Since when has ANY computer ever POSTed with no RAM? :|


    No RAM = no instructions can be executed = nothing happens
     
  6. ryannuffsaid thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, California
    #6
    the 12" has 256 built in, I was saying that I don't have any aftermarket modules in.
     
  7. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #7
    have you tried connecting to an external monitor while target booting to another mac?
     
  8. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #8

    If you are trying to boot into Leopard with 256 ram, you may not have enough ram for start up. And I don't know of any Mac that comes with a "hard drive cable" (i.e. a firewire cable.)

    I'd take out the battery and plug it in with an external hard drive. Sometimes the battery messes with Pram.
     
  9. mcmacintyre macrumors newbie

    mcmacintyre

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #9
    is it plugged in with the plug input area glowing green?

    Seems like a silly question but it happened to a friend where their battery was run down and their plug wasn't working. They immediately thought the logic board had fried...
     
  10. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #10
    I had this...

    Pull out the cable linking the optical drive.
    Then try Bluetooth, HDD and airport card.

    Component isolation - get rid of anything other than Logic Board and power - and pray.

    F
     
  11. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #11
    This is rubbish. Leopard will start with 256MB of RAM - eventually. It just won't let you install from the installer.

    F
     
  12. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #12
    Just trying to help troubleshoot with OP... not trying to start an argument?
     

Share This Page