120 GB Wildfire SSD unrecognized MBP 13 2011

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ioibindu, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. ioibindu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    Yesterday I got the Patriot Wilfire 120 GB. I had formatted the Patriot in a USB case to GUI and than I installed the SSD on my MBP (no optibay) and the disk app from my Snow Leopard DVD can't see the SSD. What can I do?

    MacBook Pro 13,3", i5, early 2011

    Thank You

    ioibindu
     
  2. DTxAg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #2
    Try hooking the SSD drive back up to the USB adapter and installing the OS on the SSD that way. After installation, reboot the computer while holding down the alt key and see if you can boot into the OS on the SSD drive. If you can, then install the SSD drive in the Mac.
     
  3. ioibindu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for that. I had been installing Lion on the SSD with USB and than I booted from the SSD. It works fine.

    Than I had been installing the SSD on my MacBook Pro and my MacBook Pro unrecognized the SSD. I booted with alt-key and no disk. What can I do?
     
  4. p.dubb713 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #4
    im in the same boat. i contacted patriot and no reply. nothing works but only as an external drive.
     
  5. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #5
    I guess it

    *puts on sunglasses*

    caught a wildfire.





    P.S. Always, always get the top end SSD's. You're only saving a few bucks if you go another route and allowing crappy suppliers to pollute the market with more of their products.
     
  6. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    Never heard of such SSD before...
    If you want to be concrete about the SSD's performance and stability, always, always, always, go with a trusted company.

    I highly suggest Crucial M4, Vertex 3, and Intel.
     
  7. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #7
    Samsung should be the choice if you cant afford the Intel.

    The Samsung 830 256GB is at $235 right now.
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Yes! Samsung as well!
    For 128GB, M4 price has dropped since last year.
    They are now 125USD on Amazon!
     
  9. p.dubb713 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #9
    i guess i have nothing but a paper weight....
     
  10. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #10
    Maybe a firmware update will help?

    Contact Patriot and tell them to fix this asap. They might have a beta firmware so you can update yourself.

    Patriot is a small company compared to Crucial, Intel & Samsung.
     
  11. p.dubb713 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #11
    I've tried to contact them, but they have not replied to any of my messages. I've setup a "Patriot Support Ticket" and still nothing! not a single reply and it said i would hear something in 48hrs. its been 4days.
    and it has the latest firmware on it. i connected it via external bay and everything is up to date.
    i don't know what else to do?
     
  12. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #12
  13. p.dubb713 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #13
    i think I'm out of luck on this one, as I'm out of the 30day window and do not have the receipt. i guess craigslist here i go.
     
  14. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #14
    RMA it and put it on eBay...at least you can sell it as new and get your money back.
     

Share This Page