128 or 256 Graphics Card??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dreadthis, Jan 19, 2008.

1. dreadthis macrumors newbie

First I just want to say how awesome this community is. I've been lurking the boards for the past couple of weeks from a PC, and i'm finally ready to make a switch. So here's my question.

I'm looking to purchase a MBP today. As a photographer i'm going to need to run Photoshop on the system but I'm not sure if the 128MB Graphics card is going to be powerful enough. Being on a budget, I don't see the need to spend an extra $500 for .2GHZ and a 20GB HDD. So which one do you think I should get?

2. gazfocus macrumors 68000

gazfocus

Personally I'd wait. The MBP's are likely to be updated soon (by the end of February at the latest), so if you can afford to wait til then, I would.

Hopefully with the next update, Apple will boost the base line CPU to 2.4GHz, and boost the baseline VRAM to 256MB

3. dreadthis thread starter macrumors newbie

I know I should wait.. but the laptop that i'm on now seems close to the end of its life. But back to the question, do you think Photoshop will run fine on the low end model thats out right now?

4. zirkle2007 macrumors 6502

zirkle2007

If all you are going to do is Photoshop then you'll be fine. But I second the other guy. Wait. You never know what they'll bring out!

5. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

snickelfritz

Excess video RAM is not going to affect applications like Photoshop.
    The 256MB model will run videogames more smoothly with higher texture resolution.
    It will not affect the actual "speed" or maximum framerate of the games though.

Choose the base 15" MBP + $50.00 to max the RAM to 4GB (from third party vendor like OWC).
    If there's any money left over in your budget, purchase an external HDD.
    BTW, you'll definitely want Photoshop CS3.