Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DelisleBA.info

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 12, 2011
Athens, OH
Hello internet folks. I am a budding videographer and I currently use 2 Panasonic GH3's but was looking for an all purpose event camera. Something that new employees could use without a lot of experience. I was thinking about getting a Canon HF G30 or an unlocked 128GB iphone 6+. The price is about the same for each. The phone would be nice because I have an older blackberry phone that is showing its age. I would like the ability to have my msgs and calls routed to my mac. I like the idea of the image stabilization on the 6+ camera but no real zoom is a downer. How many hours of video can an iphone record? Is there a 30 mins clip limit or what.

The Canon HF G30 is a true video camera that has a 20x optical zoom and image stabilization. I used to have a Canon HF G10 and loved it, so I would I would be happy with the G30.

I just wanted to see if anyone had an opinion or thoughts of what you might do. Thanks for sharing.

cruisin

macrumors 6502a
Apr 1, 2014
Canada
There is no limit. The iPhone is limited by battery and temperature (the iPhone generates a lot of heat recording, so if it is a hot location it will stop or even shutdown the phone).

Considering you want a video camera for work, I wouldn't use an iPhone. It doesn't do well in low light and of course doesn't do zoom. Plus, getting video out of the iPhone essentially requires a computer each time, while the Canon allows swapping a SD card.

Have you considered a earlier iPhone for calls from your Mac? The 4s/5/5c/5s/6 all have this feature (iOS 8 needed) and unless you need the newest iPhone you could get an older model and a the Canon. Best of best worlds, in my opinion.

joema2

macrumors 68000
Sep 3, 2013