12GB of ram in new iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by joshmv, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. joshmv macrumors member

    joshmv

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    #1
    Hey everybody,

    I just ordered a new 21.5 imac (3.06ghz) and it should show up tomorrow :)

    I ordered it with 8gb of ram pre-installed. Since it still had two open slots I ordered a 4gb kit from crucial since it was only another $100.

    My question is, I started reading that to really get the most out of the ram, they should all be matching. Is it going to matter that I have two 4gig sticks and two 2gig sticks or will it still give me the advantage because both sets are matching, just not in size?

    I always have a ton of programs, tabs, etc open so more ram is always a good thing, but if I won't see much of an improvement with the extra 4gigs I ordered from crucial I'd probably just return it.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    You have to do some pretty heavy stuff to get the full benefit from 12 gigs of RAM, but as far as speed goes, you won't notice the difference that is created by the different size sticks.
     
  3. joshmv thread starter macrumors member

    joshmv

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    #3
    Ya, I work on mine all day and am admittedly kind of a "hoarder" when it comes to closing tabs or windows.

    I usually have Photoshop up with multiple projects, 70-80 tabs open between Chrome, Safari, and Firefox. Itunes, Ichat, Filezilla, TextEdit, Espresso, and 2-3 other small programs. Occasionally I also have Parallels open with Windows running.

    My current Core 2 Duo iMac has 4gb and I've noticed some slowdowns. The Activity Monitor usually shows that all of my RAM has been allocated. I'm guessing 8GB would probably take care of everything but wasn't sure.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  4. Spike88 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #4
    As a general rule (from my A+ and computer tech days), memory sticks in same computer should be "Same Speed" and "same company". Same Speed is most important.

    If different "speed" memory chips are used, the fastest memory stick will "slow down" - to become equal with the slowest speed stick.

    Sometimes, slightly slower speed chips are NOT even noticed. re: More available memory makes the system run much faster. But for 100% "efficiency" gain, use same speed chips and same company chips. In reality, its what works best for your system. If my system running your apps, I'd keep and install the extra memory (even if different company name on them).

    Hope this helps...
     
  5. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    I think you'll find that your 8GB system from Apple will consist of 4 x 2GB sticks of RAM (not 2 x 4GB.) So you won't have any "free" RAM slots at all.

    Sorry! :(
     
  6. symbology macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #6
    I was thinking the same thing. 4X2GB sticks is cheaper than 2X4Gb sticks. It sucks, but that is usually the way it is.
     
  7. joshmv thread starter macrumors member

    joshmv

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    #7

    Ya, looks like you're right actually. I misread the configuration page on Apple which means I overpaid quite a bit for the pre-installed ram and now have some that I'll need to return to Crucial.

    I hate when I skip due diligence on things :(
     
  8. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    I only recognise this error as I almost made the same one a few days ago (ordering a 21.5" i3.)

    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.
     
  9. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #9
    check out what OWC offers trade in value wise for your oem iMac memory. Their memory is a lot cheaper.
     
  10. meat popsicle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #10
    I was looking at getting the standard ram in my iMac and buying from OWC 2x4gb sticks. Same speed, compatable ram. Should I expect any issues?
     
  11. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #11
    Ah

    Not anything that you would notice.

    I was going to do a test today removing the original OEM ram in my iMac and do a geekbench with the 2x4 gb sticks I bought recently and then re-adding
    and showing the gb figures afterwards.
     

Share This Page