12GB vs 16GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bpeeps, May 22, 2011.

  1. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #1
    I just purchased a 27" 3.4 iMac and I want to upgrade the stock RAM. I'll be using the iMac for video editing in FCP and encoding in Compressor, occasionally running them simultaneously.

    Currently I'm deciding between buying OWC's 8GB (adding it to the stock 4GB) and 16GB RAM. Will my computer notice the rendering and/or multitasking performance boost with 16GB Ram over 12GB? Or should I just stick with the cheaper option.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    As Compressor and FCP are not 64-bit, but 32-bit, they can't take advantage of that much RAM anyway.
     
  3. TheNakedMan macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #3
    I would go for the 100 dollars for 8gb, instead of 200 for 16gb.

    I doubt you will be able to do that know that much.

    12gb is a good value.
     
  4. McRCN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    That is what I did.
     
  5. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    I would definitely go for the 12 GB, as per the reasons mentioned above.
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    You should first find out if more RAM would be beneficial to you. After a normal days usage, open up Activity Monitor and see if your memory page outs are more than 1/10th the page ins. If so, you would probably benefit from more RAM.
     
  7. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #7
    12GB should be plenty, plus it doesn't do a whole lot for rendering anyhow, as that's all CPU. The extra $100 for 4GB extra isn't worth it in general, but if you discover that it would be helpful, you can always add it later.
     
  8. bpeeps thread starter macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #8
    Thanks,

    Looks like I am going to be sticking with the 8gb!
     
  9. iRobby macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #9
    if you are getting the 8Gb then you get 12Gb auto

    Apple supplies the 4GB 2x2BG =4 GB (in 2 slots) you add the 8 GB 2x4GB =8GB (the 2 empty slots) you get 12Gb TOTAL
     
  10. bpeeps thread starter macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #10

    It's less about rendering. I'm a huge multitasker. I'd like to have a browser window, iTunes, Final Cut, maybe another processor intensive application open all at the same time. On my Core 2 Duo Macbook, I can't even open Final Cut Pro and After Effects at the same time. So that's mainly what I want more RAM for.
     
  11. stir fry a lot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #11
    Final Cut Pro X will be 64 bit though.
     
  12. HilbertSpace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #12
    I am going to be upgrading to 12 myself, once my computer arrives. I figure that this route is the most economically sensible option, as I fully expect to need more than the base 4 (large simulations and math operations, plus VMs and multiple open programs). If I need the additional 4, I can always order them and replace the existing memory, and if I don't, then I am at least leveraging the memory that comes with the system. If it does turn out that I need to bump it up to 16, I'm sure I can deal with 12 for the few days it takes for the additional RAM to arrive.
     
  13. coolspot18 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    But you can run multiple instances of the applications (with each using the maximum amount of RAM for a 32-bit app) or more applications. So more memory is still better.
     
  14. johnfkitchen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #14
    Another reason for going only to 12 GB now, is that when 8GB modules become affordable, you can, if needed, jump up to 24GB by replacing the two 2GB modules at that time, keeping the two 4GB modules you just bought.

    Eventually, you can replace these, taking it to the max of 32GB.

    Software, over time, demands more and more RAM, so while 24 or 32 may sound insane today, tomorrow the need may be there, and it's good to have a plan
     
  15. akdj macrumors 65816

    akdj

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #15
    At that price, to me anyway...it seems a no brainer. Especially if you're a video or photo editor. Final Cut X (as mentioned) will be 64 bit, as will most everything moving forward...RAM is a cheap performance boost:)

    J
     
  16. coolspot18 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #16

    Do the 2011 iMacs even support >16GB of RAM? In anycase, 16GB of RAM will be plenty for the next 4 - 5 years... so there's no real need to juggle the RAM at the moment.
     
  17. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #17
    They do. OWC has tested it and sells 32GB kits.
     
  18. coolspot18 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    Only on the 2010 models no? Haven't seen the 2011 models validated for 32GB of RAM.

    In any case, 8GB SODIMMS cost a small fortune (3K for 32GB!), there is no need to upgrade to 32GB for the foreesable future.
     
  19. onthecouchagain macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #19
    Somewhat related question: Does it matter when you upgrade RAM? For whatever reason, I got into my mind that upgrading RAM while the computer is still "new" is somehow better (don't know where this idea came from).

    Is there any truth to that? I plan to purchase the 4 GB RAM base iMac and want to upgrade to 8 GB for $50 dollars, but am not sure if it's even necessary to spend that kind of money. Maybe down the line I will, but I'm wondering first if my above thought has any veracity.
     
  20. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #20
    No it doesn't matter. Use Activity Monitor to find out if you need more.
     
  21. onthecouchagain macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #21

    Yeah, that's what I thought. Thank you!
     
  22. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #22
    2011 iMac definitely supports 32 GBs of ram.
     
  23. Sylonien macrumors regular

    Sylonien

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    #23
    Does it? How come Apple website says Max. DRAM 16Gb? Not that it matters too much at the moment, 16Gb is plenty for now or depending on use. :rolleyes:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3011
     
  24. coolspot18 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #24
    RAM prices fluctuate - like the commodity market. When RAM is in production, RAM is cheaper. When RAM goes out of production, RAM gets much more expensive. Just compare DDR2 prices to DDR3.
     
  25. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #25

Share This Page