13" 2.4 Core 2 Duo vs. 2.2 Core 2 Duo Santa Rosa

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by elee888, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. elee888 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I've been debating whether or not to upgrade my 3 year old 15" Macbook Pro that has a 2.2Ghz Core 2 Duo (Santa Rosa) to the new 13" 2.4Ghz Macbook Pro. FYI... My current system also has 4GB of RAM. Since both systems are Core 2 Duo, what kind of speed bump am I going to see? Would this be a substantial upgrade?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Not even close.
     
  3. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #3
    Not really. You'll see a very very very small marginal increase in speed in normal computing.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    +1

    Plus your current one has dedicated GPU while 13" has integrated 320M which is worse.
     
  5. elee888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for the quick replies. So would this be a serious downgrade then? I want a new laptop with longer battery life. I could buy a new battery for my older model but the old MBP batteries don't last very long compared to models of today.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    You wouldn't see any performance gains worth noting besides the battery life.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    If you want a better battery, it's worth it. As Eidorian said, it won't be a performance upgrade, more like a downgrade as you now have better GPU
     
  8. Pax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    #8
    The new models run a bit cooler and feel a bit more robust. But otherwise I can't think of a good reason to make the switch. I'd just buy a 2nd battery for your Santa Rosa, that way you'd have 5-6 hours total just like a 13" MBP. The SRs are nice machines, I'm a little bit jealous of people who have them.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    I still believe it's a dice roll on the 8600M GT vs. the 320M
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Regarding to this thread, the 8600M GT is about 15% faster. Another good feature is that it doesn't use your RAM though the failure rate is pretty infamous.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    I did limit my earlier statement to "it's a gamble". :p
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    It sure is :D Dealing with 8600M GT is like playing Russian Roulette, every click may be your last one...
     
  13. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Damn you must have some freakin' huge revolvers. :p
     
  14. elee888 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #14
    Why is the 8600M a "gamble" or playing Russian Roulette?
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    Originally we were talking about performance comparisons but we later went to this.
     
  16. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #16
    Because 8600M GT has has extremely high failure rates and some people are saying that all 8600M GTs are defective, meaning that sooner than later it'll fail. Read Eidorian's link, it gives you the idea why it's like Russian Roulette
     

Share This Page