13.3" and World of Warcraft

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by dark2light2, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. dark2light2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #1
    So, what do you think? I saw a few videos on youtube of the previous revision models and it seemed OK.

    So this will run WoW on mediumish at 1440x900? I take it if I connected it to a 1920 x 1080 display in windowed mode it would probably lag?

    Any input? Hopefully some fellow macrumor folks play and just bought the new one!
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    Should be fine. WoW doesn't exactly work your CPU to death, and the GPU should be plenty good enough.
     
  3. godslabrat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #3
    WoW runs fine on my Mini, which is significantly underspecced compared to a 4GB C2D Air.
     
  4. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #4
    Obviously you've never been in Dalaran with view distance turned above minimum :) WoW eats my CPU alive on my gaming desktop and it has a quad core i5.
     
  5. Nausicaa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #5
    You'll be more than fine, especially with the 13" model. Graphically, this game wasn't state of the art even when it released five years ago.
     
  6. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #6
    Its constantly getting graphics updates.
     
  7. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #7
    True, Dalaran is kind of a b***h.

    Nevertheless, if you're playing on an ultraportable you probably shouldn't about having to dial things down a bit.
     
  8. maxthriller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #8
    I just got a MB 13" Ultimate last week, and my curiosity about its potential led me to break my 5-year hiatus from mac gaming, and specifically World of Warcraft.

    Happy to report that I couldn't be more pleased with its performance. WoW defaulted to "good" settings and it runs very, very well at native resolution. I've noticed that some things -- for instance, the many trees in the woods outside Stormwind -- can make it stutter but it's barely perceptible and doesn't seem to be a frequent problem. Every gryphon ride I've taken has been super-smooth, and busy cities don't seem to pose much problem either.

    This is with water and lighting and shadow effects turned on, too!

    It's just one of that many reasons I'm in love with this machine ... (another being that it's thinner than the screen of the Dell laptop I was provided with at work, and infinitely more powerful) :)
     
  9. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #9
    I was also curious about the CPU performance in the MBA with WoW since I play a lot on my current setup with 2.4ghz an 320m. I almost always have it hooked up to my Samsung TV output at 1920x1080p. I have my FPS capped at 25fps and usually will play smooth. I do HAVE to stay away from valley of strength in org near any peak times since I will get like 5fps-10fps and lag like hell. So I'm usually chillin' in the valley of honor w/o problems. On some boss fights in cata heroics it can get slightly laggy with my computer @1080p but not bad at native res of 1280x800. I have custom settings, I love view distance so mine is up at least 3/4 way, detail view down halfway, and mostly medium settings.

    I have not raided on my setup, but if 5man heroics get laggy, I feel raiding at 1080p would mean some graphical sacrifices.
     

Share This Page