13" 8GB RAM rMBP vs 15" 16GB RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by eirikir, Dec 12, 2013.

1. eirikir macrumors newbie

I'm a freelance web developer and am buying a new computer for my work and for personal usage (lots of Internet and watching movies, streamed and downloaded).

I'm trying to decide between a 13", 8GB RAM rMBP ($1999) and the 15", 16GB RAM base rMBP model ($2599). Both would have 512GB storage. I'm attracted to the larger screen and more RAM of the 15", but the extra $600 ($700 more w/ AppleCare) is giving me a lot of pause.

I'm planning on selling my 2011 13" MBP, so that should help. It has 4GB RAM, and which I'm constantly throttling because I often have about 5 applications open and a dozen tabs up in Chrome.

Will I notice a difference between the 8GB and 16GB RAM? Unfortunately, the 13" with 16GB RAM isn't an option for me because those take 2-3 weeks to ship and I'll be leaving the country for several months before then. Also, I know there's a million threads on this decision, but I'd appreciate first-hand accounts from people with similar use-case to mine.

Will I notice a difference between 15" and 13" MBP? Between work and play, I probably spend about half my waking hours during the week on my computer, and better movie quality wouldn't hurt.

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Unless you are running a VM or editing something like HUGE Photoshop files, you will not notice the difference between 8GB and 16GB. See this test.

15 vs 13 is a really personal choice and I don't know how to help you there. I personally prefer a 13" for the portability, but that's just me.

3. eirikir thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks, those tests were much more helpful than many others I've seen; it doesn't look like there'll be much difference between 8 and 16GB for me since I very rarely use a VM.