13" Core i7 or Core i5 + SSD & RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jamienglish, Mar 24, 2011.

1. jamienglish macrumors newbie

Hi everyone, new here.

My boss getting me a new a new laptop for work. I currently have this one which is playing up and is generally sluggish. I'm a web developer but also do a decent amount to design work too. My daily work entails coding, graphic editing and running instances of windows within a virtual machine.

The 13" i7 Macbook Pro is probably at the limit of my budget. The screen size will probably force me to hook up a monitor when I'm at the office. I'm trying to weight up whether to go for the core i7 with no extras or the core i5 model but adding in the SSD and 8GB ram. For the work I do, I'm not sure if I'll really use that extra processing power, however I do believe I will get the benefits from the SSD since I will generally be using a lot of memory heavy software.

What do you guys think? Has anyone else been in the same circumstances?

Thanks

2. Kauai macrumors 6502a

i5 over and over again.

No one uses the 13" as a work station. You WILL NOT get your money back for the i7 on resale. If you need brute power, get a 15" or 17" otherwise the 13" i5 will fit your needs swimmingly.

I did a bundle of research on this before getting mine. The saved money will go towards a SSD which will prove many times over a better investment. An increase in RAM, for yourself, sounds like it would be a good investment too.

3. jamienglish thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks Kauai, I had never though about resale value but I suppose its something to keep in mind. From what I've read the SSD really does seem to make a big difference, and storage size isn't really an issue for me.

I've been trying to find some multi-tasking benchmarks to compare the SSD vs the standard HDD for this model but can't seem to find any. Could somebody point me in the right direction?

4. nfl46 macrumors 603