Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ry.

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 6, 2011
Hello there,

Long story short. I'm a skint student. starting my 4th year of uni to do 3D animation using Maya, and also some Sound Production with Pro Tools. Is the 13" good enough? how well does the HD4000 handle hi res renders of video?

I'll be doing my honours project on which ever machine I buy so the final product is most important. So, is the 13" up to the job? and how much better on a scale of say 1-10 would the 15" with a seperate GPU handle the job?

Also, If the 13" Pro IS good enough, would anyone recommend the Air instead?

Thanks! :)

Dark Void

macrumors 68030
Jun 1, 2011
I would assume that it is "possible" and therefore the 13'' is "good enough" but the question is more/less whether it is ideal. I would suggest that if you are doing anything graphic intensive that a dedicated graphics card or chip will be the way to go - shared chips lack vRAM and are not as powerful.

I have never used the applications you've listed but generally speaking you may want a dedicated GPU for graphic intensive applications. Not to say that an integrated GPU is not passable - my laptop has an integrated chip and I have done a ton of gaming on it in the past.

You may also want to consider screen space if you are going to be working with productivity applications, another reason to possibly go for the 15'' - I wish I could help more but not knowing any specifics of the applications I am quite limited.

Ry.

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 6, 2011
I would assume that it is "possible" and therefore the 13'' is "good enough" but the question is more/less whether it is ideal. I would suggest that if you are doing anything graphic intensive that a dedicated graphics card or chip will be the way to go - shared chips lack vRAM and are not as powerful.