13 inch 2011 i7 dont have turbo ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wtr665, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. wtr665 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #1
    Hi there :),

    I noticed that my macbook was getting verry warm, so i googled if that was normal.
    After installing fan control my temp was normal in my opinion 40-60 most of the time and highest of 86-90.

    But when i searched on the internet i came to same topic about that the turbo was not kicking in with the 13 inch i7 2011

    source:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/DeLocke87#p/a/u/0/64KAOPKRAMY
    http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs/2011/03/10/apple-macbook-pro-13in-wheres-the-turbo-boost/

    i did a cpu test with power fractal that was running for like 5 minutes my macbook tempeture was around 88-91 (not to much in my opinion for a modern processor)

    I checked the processor clock speed in the terminal with: sysctl hw.cpufrequency

    my processor treads where up to 100% al four (menu meters)
    the terminal gives me the clocking speed of: 2700000000

    did i do something wrong or ?

    Hope some one can help me with this
     
  2. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #2
  3. iZero macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    #3
    Welcome to MR! :) Like Mulo said, the 13 inch 2011 i7 does indeed have turbo :) This myth got started, much like the heat "issues" from a lot of partly accurate information mixed with some bad information, and a lot of needless worrying. As I recall, the only issue with the 13 inch and turbo that I had read, seemed to have been due to a posting of a source that read as if turbo was disabled by Apple under OS X, then at the end it stated that was only an issue in Windows when in Bootcamp, many people not reading to that point and then assuming it didn't work in OS X. But under OS X, it does indeed work as intended :)
     
  4. wtr665 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #4
    i am realy relieved to hear and thanks for the fast comments.
    but isnt there a way to check what speed my processor is running ?

    like a sexy menubar thingy that changes from 2.7 to 3.4 when it hits turbo :confused:

    that would be neat :D
     
  5. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    MSR Tool shows it, sadly I haven't been able to get it running on my 2010 MBP. :(
     
  6. wtr665 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #6
    can you share the link i want to try that :D
     
  7. mulo, Mar 14, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2011

    mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #7
    http://tinyurl.com/4qnhlgy

    Turbo boost is dynamic.
     
  8. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #8
    I couldn't get turbo to ever kick in on my 2011 i7 13" in windows no matter what things I did, benching, installs gaming. Now on my i7 2010 it kicks in easily doing installs, benches all that. Both dual and single core boosting. And my 2010 runs hotter than the 13". But that's just my experience. It did bother me the 2011 never boosted at least on the windows side. I didn't have msr tools at the time I had the 2011 though to test OSX and msr won't work on my 2010 15". Just a blank screen.
     

Share This Page