13 inch rMBP for a photographer

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sportsfreak, Oct 25, 2013.

1. sportsfreak macrumors member

Hey all,

I've been reading various threads trying to look for an answer but I haven't been able to pin one down.

I am looking to upgrade my 2009 13 inch Macbook pro. I am a hobbiest photographer and use the adobe creative suite a great deal (photoshop/lightroom) to edit my 36mp raw images. I am also a university student so portability is key for me as i have to take my laptop to class every day. I have an external 25 inch monitor that I hook up my laptop to, when I get home to do work. This computer will be my primary device.

In terms of the quad and dual core. For my uses, which are quite graphic heavy, would i be at a disadvantage with a 13 inch dual core? Would it be beneficial to upgrade from the i5 to the i7 processor in the 13 inch even though it's still a dual core and not quad?

I really find the 15 inch too big for class and thus inconvenient. So I really want to make sure the 13 inch will work for my needs over the next 4 years.

I am thinking of getting the 13 inch with:
    16 gb ram
    1tb hd
    and maybe the i7 or the i5.

Thanks!

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I found for my needs the 13" laptop to be too confining. Photoshop, Lightroom and Aperture were a bit too much for a small display imo.

As for performance, I found my 2010 13" MBP to be somewhat adequate so I assume the current dual core version to be better. Performance wise the apps really work well on my 2012 15" rMBP which is a quad core, so I think while it will be ok in a dual core system, it works even better in a quad core.

3. rayyu882 macrumors member