13" MBA or 13"/15" MBP?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rel422, Mar 23, 2015.

1. rel422 macrumors newbie

Currently I have a late 2008 15" MBP which I love, but I just started Intro to Java (pre-req for my masters degree I will be starting in the fall) and it is struggling just to handle the little bit of programming I'm doing in NetBeans. I'm guessing that I will have to put additional programs on my computer and potentially an ERP system (though SAP claims to only need a 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo and 1 GB of ram I find that semi hard to believe). I had my heart set on one of the new gold MBs but I think I'm starting to come to reality that that computer is definitely not right for me.

I'm thinking 8GB of ram and 256 flash storage on either machine (we have a 1TB Mac Mini and I don't really store anything on my current MBP anyways). Is there any reason that I would need 16GB? I'm not going to be doing any gaming and after my degree is done I don't see myself doing any heavy lifting on my personal computer.

So here's what I view as the only real difference between the two machines... I would do the "3.1GHz Dual-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.4GHz" for the MBP or the "2.2GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.2GHz" for the MBA. I know nothing about this whole "Turbo Boost" business, but looking at that alone they don't look that different? I'm really happy with the 2.6GHz that our Mac Mini (current model) has so would the 2.2GHz feel like a significant downgrade?

Any help is much appreciated :)

2. fedeARTPOP macrumors newbie

just a question....can you tell me your "late 2008 15" MBP" specs? and how is working now? like still working fast/good? or do you note is an old machine? :eek:

cause im thinking of buying the high end 2015 rMBP 15" and wanna know if the investment will be worthy :p

thanks! :)

3. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603