13" MBA - SSD size? Need help, please

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Tinger, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. Tinger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #1
    Hi all.

    I am looking at getting a 2011 MBA 13" which will be a secondary machine for biz travel. I have an imac as the main machine, and MAY be able to get by without doing a windows 7 partition, but not sure. This would be replacing an old black C2D macbook w/160gb, of which I'm currently using about 25gb (mac only)

    I don't expect to carry a large photo, video or itunes collection on the MBA in any case, and I don't do much with video editing or similar.

    Applications on the mac side: Primarily Office applications.

    I MIGHT need to add a Windows partition at some point to run Access or Visio, but probably not much more than that. Not sure if this would be via VM or bootcamp.

    If it's a secondary machine, would the 128GB SSD be a safe choice?

    Supposedly, the SSD is socketed, so could be upgraded at some point?

    Recommendations or other considerations are welcome.

    Thank you.
     
  2. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #2
    The SSD, like the 2010, is not socketed. Therefore it is possible to upgrade it, either through OWC (bit pricey) or buying one off of eBay.
     
  3. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #3
    You can make 128GB work. Just remember no one ever complained about having too much SSD. :cool: If the extra $300 is a stretch for you, given your stated use, 128GB can be made to work.

    256GB sure is nice to have though... :apple:
     
  4. Tinger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #4
    You mean it IS socketed, right?
     
  5. Tinger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #5
    Anyone running both windows 7 and Lion on the 128??

    Sorry to bump this thread, but I could really use some input here, folks.

    Am I wasting my $ to go with the 256GB vs. the 128GB?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Burntorange817 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    personally I'd go with the 256.

    may not use all that space but it sure is nice to have.
     
  7. Billy Mac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #7
    I got the 256, but is going to be my main computer and I plan on keeping it for it's useful life. ( I find time is an important factor for how much the HD gets filled.) Based on your stated needs, 128 should work for you. Also, look at your past computers and how much you needed as a good measuring stick.
     
  8. psxguru macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #8
    Yes you can upgrade the SSD at a later date, see the ifixit teardown...

    http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook-Air-13-Inch-Mid-2011-Teardown/6130/1

    From the sound of your usage I think you'll be ok with the 128GB model
     
  9. SlickVik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    #9
    I'd say if your running Windows (either Bootcamp or VM) you should definitely go for the 256gb - I like to dedicate at least 32gb to Windows, and that doesn't leave much for your data/programs on the Mac side. I went with the 256gb - just more breathing room.
     
  10. Namysome macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #10
  11. Billy Mac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #11
    Running Bootcamp today and was debating the partition size. Why did you pick 32gb?
     
  12. qwerf123, Aug 14, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2011

    qwerf123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I would just the the 256GB SSD if money isn't an issue. Because you may even come to regret not having a larger SSD and the cost to get a bigger SSD later could be more.

    Also upgrading later does technically void the warranty so if you need to ever get it repaired through the warranty, you need to put the old/original SSD back in which can be a pain.

    Or you could even just get the 128GB and get an external 2.5'' Hard drive.
    It won't be long till a thunderbolt external drive is on the market.

    Another suggestion is to use cloud services for data storage. Won't be long till iCloud is released publicly and you can store your data on there but obviously there is a charge if you need more than 5GB. There are alternatives like Dropbox which are also really good. Also, back to my point earlier, if you are going to use Bootcamp/VM, I think you will need a larger SSD as its so easy to fill up the space with Apps.

    When it comes to whether you should use VM or bootcamp, it would completely depend on how you way to use your computer. If you want to be able to quickly switch between windows and macOS without reboots, go for VM but if you using it in a business environment, I personally find Bootcamp better suited.
     
  13. Tinger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #13
    32GB doesn't seem like much, so with the Lion running another 15-20 max, then I'd still have 60GB for data?

    Just curious, I'm thinking I would do Windows 7 Pro if anything. Do any of the versions of Windows 7 install on EITHER bootcamp or VM?

    BTW - Assuming i5 processor.

    tx
     
  14. qwerf123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    You can use any version of Windows 7 on bootcamp :)
    Why do you want to install Pro? What do you use in it which you can't get from home premium?
     
  15. Tinger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #15
    Well - I was thinking about Quicken 2009 running in XP mode. Didn't think it would run under Windows 7, from what I had seen. Perhaps I'm wrong.

    So that'd be the reason for the Pro version. I know - crazy.
     
  16. qwerf123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Isn't Quicken available on the Mac???

    and surely there is a newer version now for windows 7?

    I bet a new version would be cheaper than the price difference between home premium and professional.
    Have you tried that Version on windows yourself?
     
  17. Tinger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #17
    Good suggestion. Quicken / Intuit has abandoned the mac world, releasing trashed downgraded versions from Windows. Amazing but true. So there's nothing on the mac side that really replaces it.

    Huge market opportunity.

    Thanks for the inputs - I think I'm sold on the 256......
     
  18. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #18
    No, I mean is NOT. Ram is soldiered, ssd is user replaceable.
     
  19. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #19
    The SSD is socketed, the RAM is not.

    The SSD uses a small, blade-like drive, not a standard 2.5" drive. While upgradable, it's not cheap.
     
  20. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #20
    I did 40GB for my Win7 Pro Bootcamp partition, and that is plenty. I installed Office, Visio, Project, Quicken, and a couple other apps and still have 15GB left. The space hog was the iTunes library.
     
  21. qwerf123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    Think that is wise in case you find you'll ever need more space.
     
  22. Tinger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #22
    It's a wrap!

    Done. 13" Air / i5 / 256

    Now I need to go earn more money.

    Thanks to everyone!
     
  23. qwerf123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    Not the i7??? Lol
     
  24. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #24
    Oops. Heh-heh. I can see the OP's confusion at my earlier statement now.:eek: I meant to say the SSD was socketed.
     
  25. Tinger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #25
    ouch.

    NO.

    :)
     

Share This Page