13" MBP 2.4GHz or 2.66GHz

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by xSGCrash, Sep 5, 2010.

1. xSGCrash macrumors newbie

Hey!

Buying a 13" MBP in the next week or so, mainly going to be used for university on a programming course. main uses would be for internet, programming, using adobe creative suite (dreamweaver / photoshop) as a hobby and potentially editing photos / videos - onlylight editing though. Also going to be connecting to a 24" LED external monitor when I'm at home.

Just wondering on your thoughts between the standard 13" 2.4GHz 250GB MBP and the 13" 2.66GHz 320GB MBP, Obviously as I'm a student I will be getting the HE discount, just wondering if you think paying £200+ for an extra 70GB space and a faster processor would be worth it or a waste of money?

Cheers!

2. robvas macrumors 68020

Nope, spend the money on an SSD, or put it in your bank account until you can get a 13" MBP with the i5 processor.

3. green86 macrumors 6502

green86

No. The base should fit your needs fine!

4. xSGCrash thread starter macrumors newbie

The base will run Photoshop / Dreamweaver etc without any issues yeah?

5. Covart Guest

I have both. Take the money you save from buying the base model, buy an aftermarket SSD and an additional 4GB of RAM (giving you 6GB total).
    Use the stock HDD that came with the computer and use it as an external drive for storage.
    Total cost for this upgrade will be about what you would have spent for the 2.66 MBP and the 320GB HDD and your computer will be much, much faster and handle any programs you need. Just my opinion.

6. NicoleRichie macrumors 6502

i agree, do this.

7. iTootyFrooty macrumors member

Agreed. Extra Ram or Better Hard Drive (SSD Or 7200 Rpm) would give you a bigger performance boost than the extra .26 Ghz (of which the performance difference would be almost unnoticable)

8. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

ouimetnick