13" MBP 2010 Assassins Creed 2 Bench

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by appleater, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. appleater macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #1
    Just got myself a 2010 MBP 13", was wondering how Assassins Creed 2 runs on it before I go and spend the money on it? I have heard it is laggy on some of the older models? Anyone have any experience with it on the late 2010 13" MBP? Also thinking of getting Modern Warfare?

    Any tips would be very helpful, thank you.
     
  2. reberto macrumors 65816

    reberto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #2
    It runs horribly on my 17", even when I lower the resolution to 1280x800 it still can't hold a steady frame rate, and I've got an i5 and a 512MB GT330m, so your C2D and 320M don't stand a chance :(
     
  3. appleater thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #3
    Downloading Assassins Creed 1 torrent right now, hopefully that will run ok.

    Thank you Reberto

    How about COD4? Any one have any luck with that?
     
  4. iGlass macrumors newbie

    iGlass

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    #4
    COD4 works fine for me on my 2011 MBP 13" So I don't think there are any different on your model, as long as COD4 is available on Mac appstore I think it's fine with all modern Mac computers
     
  5. reberto macrumors 65816

    reberto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #5
    Star Wars KOTOR is on the App Store, but it runs horribly on almost every computer I've seen it run on ;)

    COD4 will run just fine. I can play it at 1920x1200 with the options set to medium/high, so native resolution and medium settings should be fine for you.
     
  6. jbyun04 macrumors 6502a

    jbyun04

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    KOTOR runs poorly? Is it a Cider port??
    Shame... considering how old that game is
     
  7. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #7
    Long story: Aspyr ported it back in the PowerPC days. Attempted to make it universal, but aborted it after releasing some incomplete patches. Years later, brings it to Mac App Store, but runs horribly on many computers. Mac App Store patch supposedly fixes most of the problems, but I don't really trust Aspyr enough to encourage people to buy KOTOR, even at half off today.
     
  8. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #8
    It runs terrible on both my MBP and MP compared to Windows.
     
  9. AAPLaday Guest

    AAPLaday

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #9
    KOTOR runs great on my late 2007 iMac with 2600 Radeon graphics. Maxed out too. They updated the game a week or so ago and it gave it a big performance leap.
     
  10. appleater thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #10
    If Assassins Creed 1 runs anything like 2, I wouldn't recommend anyone buy it for the 2010 13" MBP.

    It runs ok (its playable), not anything like the ps3 or xbox 360 which pretty much ruins the experience.
     
  11. jegbook macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    #11
    Assassin's Creed on 2010 13" MBP (bootcamp)

    Given that the thread has meandered a bit, thought I would chime in.

    On Win 7 32bit (specs in sig), installed Assassin's Creed through Steam on Saturday (had purchased Ubisoft 4 pack deal weeks ago). For the record, running the NVidia 266.58 driver (Windows Experience Index is 6.1 for gaming and 5.4 for Aero).

    Totally engrossed by the game. Never played a game like it before (never owned a console or played console games much).

    I've played it with settings maxed out and think it looks beautiful and is completely playable. Possibly not buttery smooth at max settings, but for the kind of game it is, absolute butter doesn't seem necessary. All the eye candy helps realism. :)

    Played with the settings a bit and using FRAPS got a bit of an idea of fps and different settings. At max settings with AA off it averages around 20 fps, bumps up to about 25 fps in areas with little going on, and can go to 13 fps in high congestion areas or at the top of towers. The thing is, I don't notice a difference in gameplay with changes of frame rate: i.e- at the top of a tower if it shows 13 fps, I can still look around the city below and not notice any drop or lag in performance, even if moving the mouse quickly.
    If I drop the settings to one notch above the lowest, it seems to average around 25, and again, without noticeable change in performance. If I put all settings at low, frame rate jumps to the upper 30s, and I think I can notice some increased smoothness when looking around quickly.

    So, I don't get it. fps is supposed to be this magical number, so why can't I notice that much difference in how the game plays despite "mediocre" frame rates? One thing I do notice, which makes total sense, is that in cut scenes the audio lags behind the video. But, it seems a small price to pay for everything to look so nice.
    Is FRAPS inaccurate, or for non First Person Shooter games is frame rate not as much of an issue?

    I've played King Arthur: the role-playing wargame and Call of Juarez through Steam as well. King Arthur I played maxed out, which seems to run about 12/13 fps and I can notice the difference in battle scenes if I lower the settings, but again, for the type of game, doesn't matter much (I don't think, could be wrong). Call of Juarez I think I played maxed-out, too, and seemed smooth, but I think the requirements for it are pretty low.

    Thought I would add my experiences. I think I have a ways to go in Assassin's Creed, but am considering ACII 'cus it is just so neat! :D
    Thinking in Boot Camp it could play decently at more modest settings.

    Happy gaming, all.
     
  12. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #12
  13. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #13
    It's not a bad game to play with fps as low as 25, but I do notice a difference between the 40-45 fps I am getting and the 20-25 I was getting. TBH, I feel like it's a big difference in smoothness. Especially if you're trying to run around on rooftops to capture or get away from someone and you need to know where you can run without falling 3 stories. 20-25 fps wont let you look fast enough to see you're about to leap off the edge and not onto another rooftop.
     
  14. ranviper macrumors 6502a

    ranviper

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Location:
    Adirondacks, NY
    #14
    I bootcamped 2 and now brotherhood and they both run fine. Try fixing your drivers settings.
     
  15. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    wow, what's the problem? I play AC 2 with setting everything max out on my PC laptop. it still shows 45-60fps. just shock. how can't Mac handle such a lower system requirement game with a good spec? that's why you don't play games on mac. that's just disaster. don't get me wrong. I already know this kind of problem since I have macbook pro 15inch (October 2009 model). even new macbook pro doesn't seem to set max out for video options. it's shame when you pay over $2000. laptop doesn't even have high end graphic card. well, I already gave up playing games on my mac.
     
  16. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    Folks chiming in at this later stage. You are comparing peformance of 'bootcamp' windows game experience, the OP was seemingly interested in Mac OS experience of the game and that is why reberto and others said it runs poorly.
     
  17. Mackilroy, Apr 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 14, 2011

    Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #17
    appleater: you really need a desktop GPU (such as a 4870 or better) to play AC2 well with maxed options selected. Even under Windows.
     
  18. lewdvig, Apr 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 14, 2011

    lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #18
    Splinter Cell ran much smoother and looks better. What's with that Ubi?

    Best bet: buy Feral games, skip everything else unless it is on sale or comes free with the Win version. :p

    And where is the Brotherhood Mac announcement?
     
  19. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #19
    actually the Windows version running on OSX through Wineskin or Cider actually runs fantastic... its the native version that runs horribly.

    Most people don't ever want to hear that though, they've been brainwashed against anything thats not "native"
     
  20. lulz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #20
    Help me guys. Can a 2010 macbook (ordinary) with Nivida GeForce 9400m run assassins creed 1/2 or modern warfare 2?
     

Share This Page