13" MBP For Business Major?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by spmojo, Jun 13, 2010.

1. spmojo macrumors member

I recently just purchased my MBP for College this upcoming Fall. I Have Microsoft Office on it also. I am majoring in Finance and would like to know if the Computer suites me well? Thank You! :rolleyes:

2. jmdMac macrumors regular

You should find that out for yourself if you already have it...

But yes it will, it will be more than enough to handle everything you need for school. I can't see business majors having to use anything that could be considered a remotely intensive program/app. Also, the potability of the 13" will be nice for carrying around campus.
    Enjoy!

3. Bankaimadness macrumors 6502

Well if I may make a suggestion.

I really don't see any point why you can't just bring a regular PC Laptop if all you are going to do is Business and work. (Most likely was what you implied)
    Apple products are usually the target for theft/robberies/burglaries and such and especially if people see you using it in class and walking around with it.

It is just my 2 cents but you can do whatever you like.

4. grahamcracker macrumors newbie

grahamcracker

Yeah that whole theft thing is probably the stupidest thing i've heard all day.

But the 13inch is a great computer but you will have to dual boot any time you really do some real work on Excel. For some reason unknown to me, macs do absolute insane stuff with excel, screw up formulas, mess up graphs, not apply forumlas to all fields, the list goes on...

So dual boot and you should be golden

5. robotmonkey macrumors 6502

I wouldn't even bother with office. You can open any office file in iWork and you can export to any office file. AND office for mac is the single slowest and most frustrating suite to use. So what I am saying is get iWork

6. robotmonkey macrumors 6502

BTW nice computer, just got a 13 mbp as well (running iWork of course)

7. cys920622 macrumors member