13" MBP or 13" MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by thda13, Aug 15, 2011.

1. thda13 macrumors newbie

ok so ive been reading the forums lately and it made me not so sure anymore about getting the 13" MBP. Im a IB student, i usualy use computer for downloading, movies, work and casual gaming (little bit).

is it better to go air or pro? :D

2. duggram macrumors 6502

duggram

I got my 13" MBA last Nov. I travel for work each week and my laptop is on constantly. It was stolen about 3 months ago. The next day I got a new 13" MBP. I won't go back. The Pro is faster, has more RAM and an optical drive. Personally I don't see any difference in portability either.

Good luck in school. Wish I was going again.

3. DustinT macrumors 68000

DustinT

The only difference between them is the MBP has a superdrive and its thicker and heavier. The MBA is smaller, lighter but has no superdrive but it does have an SSD included which boosts performance. Also, you can not upgrade the RAM on the MBA at all. Ever.

Both units can have their hard drives upgraded but the MBA doesn't use a standard laptop hard drive. It uses a special mini SSD that tends to be pretty pricey.

Honestly, you can't really make a bad decision here. Just get the one you think you'll like more and if you need more performance, sell it and upgrade a bit.

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Less user replaceable components, less ports vs. larger laptop with an optical drive.

Personally, at this point I'd go with the MBA if you can live within the constraints of the smaller SSD

5. DustinT macrumors 68000

DustinT

I'm sorry for your loss. Its worth noting that the 2011 models that the op was referring to have the same speeds as a 2011 MBP 13". There were some pretty substantial upgrades with the latest releases. They also come with the same amount of ram, although you can not upgrade the ram on a MBA.

6. duggram macrumors 6502

duggram