13" MBP running parallels???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by spmiz12, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. spmiz12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #1
    Does anyone have a 13" MBP running parallels?? What version windows are you running?? Does it slow the MBP down?? How much real estate does it take up??

    Thanks
     
  2. jlw2387 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    #2
    I have Parallels running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, the virtual disk for it take about 35GB. Runs just fine on my MBP.
     
  3. aeboi macrumors 65816

    aeboi

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    parallels 6 works fine on mine w/windows 7 ultimate
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    It will work fine, although it eats up a good bit of ram, so if you plan to use it extensively, you may want to consider upgrading to 8GB.
     
  5. christophermdia macrumors 6502a

    christophermdia

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #5
    Agree with this 100%, I run Win 7 on both a 13" C2D and a 15" i7, they work pretty much the same, if you are doing a bunch of things at the same time then the 13" may slow down a bit but not too bad...
     
  6. spmiz12 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #6
    Do you have 4GB or 8GB on your 13"?????
     
  7. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    I frequently run Windows 7 Professional 32 bit with some CAD software under Parallels, iShowU HD capturing the "action", Keynote, Safari, OmniDazzle, and Preview all simultaneously on a 1.5 year old MacBook with 4GB RAM. Runs just fine except when I zoom the display, which for some reason bogs the system down. "Reasonable use" should be just fine!
     
  8. spmiz12 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #8

    So you have a 27" iMac also; I do too, that really was why I went with the 13" but still want something that can stay workable..... I am so use to PC machines crapping out.... All this mac stuff is only a couple years old..

    So you have a 13"??
     
  9. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    I've got the 13" for when I'm in class (the example I gave) and traveling (for photography). Otherwise I use the iMac. Anything bigger than the 13" would be just that -- bigger! And the iMac is much nicer for heavy work.
     

Share This Page