13" MBP - System Prefs Freaking out my computer

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ddeadserious, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. ddeadserious macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #1
    So I open my system preferences to change my background.

    And it is beach-ball-of-death-ing obnoxiously, it's nearly impossible to change my background, and it's taking up 100%+ of my processor.

    I've tried restarting, but I've seriously never had this issue on any of my Macs before.

    Any ideas?:mad:
     
  2. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #2
    The Screensavers prefpane makes it inoperable as well.

    This is really strange.
     
  3. PolySciSurfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I've never had that happen before. Tell us everything you have plugged into your mac, and what programs are running?
     
  4. John89 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    Have you tried doing all the usual shenanigans like repairing permissions etc?
     
  5. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #5
    Nothing other than the Magsafe is plugged in. Have been up and running all day long with it.

    2.26GHz, 4GB Mushkin RAM(been using it in my UMB for months), 320GB Seagate HD. No other issues at all with the way it runs.

    I used Archive & Install when I put the 320 HD in(since it came from my Macbook) and all has been good.

    No other prefpane causes this issue, and I was just running system preferences when I rebooted it, so there is no other program to interfere.
     
  6. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #6
    I just repaired permissions. What is the "etc"?
     
  7. jboyzh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    #7
    Works well here on the same model... I'd check preferences -> user/library/preferences/com.apple.finder -> backup and afterwards delete this file, will be rewritten new after restarting finder.
    Or next go the cocktail/onyx/yasu repair route (little service apps, check macupdate.com or versiontracker.com).
     
  8. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #8
    Right clicking an image in Firefox and hitting "Set as Desktop Background" works fine. Repairing permissions didn't help anything, although some quicktime preference pane stuff had differing permissions.
     
  9. bphillips macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #9
    It happens when you choose "Desktop and Screensaver" from Preferences?
     
  10. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #10
    I'll try the Finder thing, but otherwise, everything else is working flawlessly. I used the factory restore disks to reinstall the OS. Didn't use migration assistant or anything since I did the archive and install.
     
  11. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #11
    Yes, that or secondary clicking on the Desktop and hitting "Change Desktop Background". It all has to do with the Desktop and Screensaver prefpane. Any way I can just replace that?
     
  12. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #12
    Wow, jboyzh, props to you.

    The finder.plist thing appears to have worked, because it is all functioning as it should now.

    Thanks so much!
     
  13. bphillips macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #13
    Go to:

    Macintosh HD > System > Library > PreferencePanes

    Then find the ScreenSaver.prefPane:

    Click on it. It should open. If not, copy it to your desktop (or wherever).

    Then, delete in from the PreferencePanes folder. Drag the copy into there.

    If that STILL doesn't work, I'll upload my copy of "ScreenSaver.prefPane" to some fileshare site and you can just replace yours with mine.
     
  14. jboyzh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    #14
    understood, did about the same here. Just to be sure: About this mac > More > Software shows Mac OS X 10.5.7 (9J3050) here. It's a different build than 10.5.7 from older machines.

    Did you check your HD with disk utility when booting with the software restore disk before installation? Spinning wheel can occasionally occur if HD or file system has problems.

    luck!
     
  15. jboyzh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    #15

    ...thanks hearing that, and you seem to really be deadserious, as your answers come in faster than I can follow the discussion :)

    Enjoy!
     
  16. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #16
    Alright well... The problem has resurfaced and the method used previously did not work.

    My OS build is 9J3032...

    Would someone mind uploading their prefpane for me? Thanks guys.


    edit: Just grabbed the prefpane from my old MBP(running 10.5.7) and it didn't change anything... but I guess using one from another UMBP might work?
     
  17. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #17
    I tried messing with the prefpane some more to no avail... Any ideas?
     
  18. Doebldodl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Location:
    Germany
    #18
  19. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #19
  20. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI

Share This Page