13 or 15 inch 2017 MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by andrewtm, Aug 12, 2017.

1. andrewtm macrumors regular

I had the 13 inch w/ TB for about two weeks and I loved it. The portability was great but I did find the screen somewhat small in some circumstances, so I returned it to try the 15. So far it's been great, but it is somewhat heavy/wide, and does get a little warm.

I'm a senior year college student and will be mostly bringing my laptop to the library and classes. I'm majoring in computer science and minoring in art/design so I will be using graphically intensive programs like photoshop, maya, etc. I had a 2009 MacBook Pro and photoshop was tolerable on that, so I have no doubts I'll have issues on the new 13. The thing is I've never used Maya and I don't know how it would run on the 13, or if the 13 is good enough for my uses. Today is the end of my two week return period, so I kind of have to make a decision now and I'm struggling.

Perhaps I'm being too picky on the portability aspect from reading everyone's opinions too much since this is my biggest concern. I use my laptop often on my lap to watch movies, I also use it on the desk at the library and hooked up to an external monitor. So I'd really only be lugging it around my house/taking it to library and class.

Based on my uses, which do you guys think would be the best option? Since I'm graduating in a year, I feel like I should not entirely base my decision off getting a "college laptop".

2. Adam Henry macrumors newbie

I just returned my 13 for a 15 since I have an ipp that I use for traveling along with my work laptop. the 13 is a great laptop but since I don't take it out of my house I switched to the 15. in your case I would stick with the portability of the 13 as it fits much better in a backpack and is pound lighter.

3. malikkamran macrumors 6502

malikkamran

I got iPad but find 13 inch alright as it is more portable and 15 would be too heavy

4. jerryk macrumors 68030