13" or 15" MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hayleywow, Feb 17, 2013.

1. hayleywow macrumors regular

hayleywow

Hi guys,

I'm about to buy a new MBP not the retina model though.... Do I get the 13" or 15" ??

Any advice much appreciated

Thanks

2. simsaladimbamba

It depends on your computational needs, as the 13" and 15" satisfy those differently.

Do you know your computational needs and if so, can you provide those for us in order to give you better help?

3. hayleywow thread starter macrumors regular

hayleywow

I work in a school, so I'm upgrading my shabby school laptop...

Main uses:
    Office - creating powerpoints etc
    Internet
    Final Cut Pro
    Maybe bootcamp...

Needs to be easily portable, and at home I will be connecting it to an external display :)

4. simsaladimbamba

For your stated needs, both models will do just fine.

If you expect more work in FCP X though, the 15" has the advantage of being a quad-core Mac, thus transcoding the footage will not take as long.

And the screen of the 15" High Res model also offers much more pixels than the 13" screen, which can be helpful with FCP X, but as you stated, you already have an external monitor, thus the 13" should suffice.

As for RAM and HDD/SSD, you can do upgrades to it yourself, no need to pay Apple prices.
    Also take a look at the Refurbished Mac section in the Apple Online Store, maybe you can get your model for less there.

5. abc123 macrumors 6502

The comparison tool on the online apple store is quite helpful too.

I found that actually, after I upgraded to a solid drive and increased the ram on the regular models (via mac store), it is cheaper or the same price to go with the retina model (and you get a very slightly faster cpu). It of course depends if you think those upgrades are important to you, or if you'd rather diy on a user serviceable machine.