13'' or 15'' rMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by brenm666, Oct 23, 2013.

1. brenm666 macrumors regular

Hi all,

I'm an engineering student and I am currently thorn between the 13'' and the 15''. I'm using my current 15'' 2010 MBP as my everyday computer, so I am doing a bit of everything (web surfing, movies, a bit of gaming, VM when I need to for Win-only eng. apps, etc.)

Here is what I am looking at right now.
    1) 13'' 2.8 Dual i7/16GB/512GB w/ AppleCare
    2) 15'' 2.3 Quad i7/16GB/512GB w/ AppleCare

There's a 400$ difference between the two. Are the Quad-core and the Iris Pro worth it?
    Is the 16GB overkilling it (I'm mainly getting it to make it future-proof)?
    Anyone previously went from 15'' to 13'' and had trouble adjusting to it?
    Never got AppleCare before, is it worth it? I've also never had a problem with a Mac before... And at 200/260$ I am not sure it's worth it...

Any thoughts?

2. Breedlove macrumors regular

It's easy to hit the 8GB mark with just one VM running. I was an engineering major for a bit and I'd say that 16GB is a safer bet. Even now, as a law student, I'm going to opt for the upgrade just because I still dabble with virtualizations and what not (albeit on the very rare occasion).

Also, I had AppleCare on my current machine (17in early-2009 MBP) and never used it once. I would say that I am rough with my laptop (more so in the past year). Almost 5 years of ownership now (2 without AppleCare) and still no problems.

This time around, I'm personally forgoing the AppleCare and spending that to upgrade to 16GB and a better processor. Just my two-cents.

Also going from 17in to 13in and I know I will love it.

3. FrozenDarkness macrumors 65816

tbh, i'm running Parallels for work and I was fine on 8GB of Ram before, albeit everything was a bit laggy on windows side. regardless, i'm not the type of person who even likes parallels.