13" Retina Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by R3fr3sh, Aug 3, 2013.

1. R3fr3sh, Aug 3, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2013

R3fr3sh macrumors member

I'm new to macbook and I need a replacement to my aging Dell inspiron 9400 (10 years old). The 13" retina pro looks very interesting because of its screen. I have a few questions I couldnt find.

1. How much does operating system use out of the 128GB?

2. If I fill up the SSD, will it operate like windows? What i mean is, does it start to get sluggish after owning if for a month or more?

3. I've read the 15" and the 13" Retina Pro's seem really sluggish on websites, is this a known safari or osx thing?

4. I understand reliability is very good, but how much of you purchase the applecare? What could possibly go wrong?

EDIT
    5. How do I tell what monitor the retina macbook has - this does not work when i tried it on a 13" macbook at the apple store (you go into the magnifier and type in terminal and type this in vioreg -lw0 | grep \"EDID\" | sed "/[^<]*</s///" | xxd -p -r | strings -6 - right?)

2. lagisibuk macrumors 6502

1. OS for 10-15Gb
    2. -
    3. Browser, I prefer using mozilla
    4. I never using apple care, I have ever macbook 2010, until today all is work fine. Commonly problem in retina is screen, please check u're screen. Many people replace for free LG screen to samsung screen.

3. dazlicous macrumors 6502a

dazlicous

Don't forget tho you won't actually get the full 128GB to use.

AppleCare depends where you live and what consumer laws you have for your country.

Sluggish is suppose to be fixed in Mavericks which is more of a software issue

4. ryallen macrumors newbie

Windows doesn't slow down when you fill up the ssd. Not in my Vaio z anyway. That thing's two years old and runs like new. And I'm sure osx doesn't either. The point of an ssd is not to slow down over time.

5. Stetrain macrumors 68040