13" retina worth waiting for if you are a developer?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lankanwarrior, Aug 31, 2012.

1. lankanwarrior macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am not sure if anyone remembers, but I am a third year CS student and I am in need of a new laptop. I was planning to get a 15 RMBP but news about the 13 coming very soon makes me wonder. I can wait a month or two.

Developers, how do you feel about 13 vs 15. Is the quad core necessary for software development, or will dual core suffice. The graphics dont matter since I do not game.

Also, since I probably wont't be using an external monitor (mostly since it will look next to crap compared to a Retina screen), will it be hard to program? Since I tend to have a lot of stuff open.

Thanks for any advice:)

2. polotska macrumors 6502

I think it really comes down to screen real estate vs. portability. What size and form factor are you coming from?

3. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

i'm pretty sure a dual core will suffice, assuming apple will put a 2.0 GHz ivy bridge i7 that they use in BTO macbook airs, in the 13" retina. as far as the graphics go, i reckon apple probably won't put a dedicated GPU in there, but maybe something integrated, but better than intels HD 4000? don't get me wrong, but intels offerings are great, but when you are probably going to pay around £1500-£2000 (just speculation so far) for that, i would at least expect a better solution for integrated graphics, especially when you want to do things like adobe and other hard-core software.

(this is just all my thinking, by the way :D )

4. derbothaus macrumors 601

derbothaus

5. OniSlayer macrumors newbie

I made a somewhat similar thread a few days ago. The general idea I got form the replies were that it's doable on a 13" but having an external monitor is a huge plus. But it seems to come down to whether you prefer the 13" or 15" form factor or if you need the extra power of the 15".

6. lankanwarrior thread starter macrumors newbie