13" rMBP decision help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by GoodKidMAADCity, Jan 11, 2013.

1. GoodKidMAADCity macrumors newbie

So i recently purchased the 13" rMBP base model (after returning the macbook air because I was not fond of the screen quality). However, now I am having some doubts. I love everything about the computer except for the fact that I have only 100 GB's of storage space. I am now stuck between returning it and upgrading to the 15"or just keeping it and using external storage or USB 3.0 sticks. I am a student and I plan on bringing the laptop with me to school everyday. I want this computer to last me for a while and it worries me only having 100 GB of free space down the line. Has anyone else faced this dilemma and what are your opinions?

----------

By the way i forgot to mention. I really have no intention to use this for gaming. I have a custom built PC with a gtx 680 that I game on. It will mainly be used for school and every day use (maybe music producing down the line, but for now I use my desktop for that).

2. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

N19h7m4r3

Just get some portable 1TB or 2TB USB3 drives and keep on going.

Since you already have a desktop there's no need for the 15" unless you really want one. Personally I would have at least opted for the 256GB SSD option if I had the funds, 128 is far too limiting.

3. Mercmanman macrumors member

When I travel with my rMBP I take along a 64GB USB3 thumb drive. Cost me $44 at Best Buy.....

That way you keep the portability of the 13" for school and flash will only get cheaper for USB drives...when you need to expand a bit

4. GoodKidMAADCity thread starter macrumors newbie

I thought about the 256 but i really don't have the funds (until I get my taxes back). My logic is if I'm going to pay an extra 300 for 256gb i mine as well get a quad core i7 and built in graphics card for only 100 more.

5. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

N19h7m4r3