13" rMBP Haswell: Feedback on which specs to get

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Just1nCase, Oct 25, 2013.

1. Just1nCase macrumors member

I know you see a lot of these posts on what specs to get.. but I'm currently indecisive and I would hate to spend my hard-earned cash on a computer that I should gotten instead.

So I need your help. I am deciding whether it's worth getting the better CPU (2.6, 2.8) or max out the memory to 16GB? or both?

I am a graphic designer. I do lots of multitasking between apps (Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, etc.) and handle hi resolution files. The purpose of this laptop is to be a portable extension to my existing setup at home where I have a 27" Mid-2011 iMac 3.4GHz i7, 16GB of RAM, 256 SSD with 1TB Optical Drive.

I don't want this laptop to replace my current setup at home, but I hope to complement when I'm on the go.

Let me know what you think. Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks!

2. mcarling macrumors 65816

If the choice is 8GB of DRAM and a 2.8GHz CPU versus 16GB of DRAM and a 2.6GHz CPU, I would choose the latter without hesitation, for the use case you described.

3. Stef4n macrumors regular

Memory, no question! Even if I guess 8GB should be fine for you.

4. redtape macrumors member

I noticed another odd thing. (Or maybe not so odd)
    But when you look at the specs of the Core i5 and Core i7 they are both listed as Dual core. I thought that the juce that brands a processor an i7 is that it's quad core?

Or is there some differences with the amount of cache?

Or is it as simple as if the processor has a higher clock speed it's an i7?

Oh another question, how is the heat levels with the i7 in the 13 inch?

5. Just1nCase thread starter macrumors member

Thanks! After thinking about it, 16gb of RAM does make sense in my situation since we're talking about multitasking and so forth.