13" Sandy Bridge Air vs Sandy Bridge 13" MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by definitive, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #1
    I'm looking into purchasing my first Apple laptop, and considering buying a 13" because I already have an iMac for my desktop system. My question is this: Does anyone know how the SB CPU's that are being rumored to be used in the next Air compare to those found in the current 13" MBP?

    Initially I wanted to get the 13" MBP, but decided to hold off on it after I found out that their screens have a lower resolution than Air's. I'm also considering waiting for the next MBP refresh, but that may be a long wait since the next set of CPUs are rumored to be released in 2012.
     
  2. maclook macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    I'm in the same boat. I was waiting for an updated MBP design but the MBAs are turning into a possible alternative. I read that the SBs will give a pretty significant performance boost so I'm hoping theyre powerful enough for me to consider. MBAs a great. I just want a little more power and maybe backlit keyboard.
     
  3. defected07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #3
    I third this comparison.

    I believe the SBs in the MBAs will be a little less powerful than the MBPs, since they need to be within a certain voltage limit (I believe).

    But, with the SSDs in the MBA, you may not see much of a difference in performance between the two. I'll miss the gigabit ethernet on the MBA, as well as a backlit keyboard (if they aren't in the new MBAs). But, ethernet cold also be added via a USB dongle (though I'm not sure if it'd reach true gigabit speeds--probably limited by USB's bandwidth).

    Any other points to consider? Henge makes an awesome dock for the MBP line, but not for MBA--though Twelvesouth makes a nice solution in the BookArc (http://twelvesouth.com/products/BookArc_for_Air/)

    As a current 15" MBP user, I'm looking for something more powerful, but smaller and lighter-weight. I'd probably pick up a monitor and keyboard so that I could have the desktop experience when home.
     
  4. 42streetsdown, Jun 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2011

    42streetsdown macrumors 6502a

    42streetsdown

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey, 5124
    #4
    These are my guesses.

    13" MBA Base CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-2629M Processor (Dual Core, 2.1 GHz(3.0GHz turbo) 4M Cache)

    13" MBA BTO CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-2649M Processor (Dual Core, 2.3 GHz(3.2GHz turbo) 4M Cache)

    versus

    13" MBP First CPU
    Intel® Core™ i5-2410M Processor (Dual Core, 2.30 GHz(2.9 GHz turbo) 3M Cache)

    13" MBP Second CPU
    Intel® Core™ i7-2620M Processor (Dual Core, 2.70 GHz(3.4 GHz turbo) 4M Cache)

    So the MBA that goes for $1,699.00 will have similar processor speed to the Pro that goes for $1,199.00
     
  5. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    Lets hope Apple creates a ThunderBolt Gigabit Ethernet adapter to take advantage of the much higher speeds. If they do I'm sure it will be released right after I buy the USB version so you might want to wait until after that.

    Apple already makes a USB 10/100 Ethernet adapter for the MacBook Air. It has been available since January 2008 when the first MacBook Air was released.
     
  6. 42streetsdown macrumors 6502a

    42streetsdown

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey, 5124
    #6
    so much yes to this! the USB is good, but this would be amazing
     
  7. moxxey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #7
    Plus a 256GB SSD, which isn't a cheap addition for the Pro. Also, you get a bigger resolution screen.

    I am/was about to pull the trigger on a 13" 2.7 MBP, but am now holding off until the new Air. There are some downsides of the Air - primarily 4GB of memory, max, no backlit keyboard and, although small, I'm not a big fan of the silver bezel around the LCD. Prefer the black glossy bezel.

    The memory would be the only thing holding me back on purchasing a new Air. I can't see it receiving an 8GB option though as a single 8GB RAM card is price prohibitive (for Apple or us!).
     
  8. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    It's not really price prohibitive for Apple since they will just pass that cost to the consumer and still make a profit.
     
  9. defected07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #9
    Right, I'm aware, but that's only 100 megabit. I was speaking for gigabit connection.

    And there's only one memory slot in MBAs?
     
  10. sevimli macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #10
    there is none. all on board now.
     
  11. orfeas0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #11
    do you even have 50mbit of connection speed? i mean 100mbit is more than enough in terms of speed. unless you want to connect 2 pcs directly, without an internet connection in which case, speed matters.
     
  12. magbarn macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #12
    My MBP 15 with mechanical HD backs up to my time capsule approximately 3x faster than my MBA. And there's less to backup on the MBA to boot. So 1gb Ethernet>>>>>100mb USB ethernet
     
  13. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #13
    I have a 1Gbps internet connection of which I can eke out 10% of with my 10/100 usb ethernet adaptor. Major difference when connected to my router via ethernet compared to my iMac.
     
  14. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #14
    I wonder how the high end refreshed MBA will compare to the base MBP.
     
  15. nizmoz, Jun 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2011

    nizmoz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #15
    Sure you do buddy....

    Edit: Didn't know other countries had this available...guess living in the US sucks sometimes!
     
  16. torbjoern macrumors 65816

    torbjoern

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    The Black Lodge
    #16
    Who needs a MBP over a MBA (in terms of processing power) when already having an iMac? :confused:

    Other than that, I can understand the want for an Ethernet port, though.
     
  17. jayo123456 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #17
    thought i should boldify what OP was asking.
     
  18. defected07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #18
    Thank you. So it's not a normal notebook memory card? If you got say a 2GB memory "stick", would you be able to upgrade memory on your own? Or must you buy the MBA with the most memory you'll want?

    It's not for WAN connection, but LAN. I have an unRAID server, which I would most likely back up to from my Mac (either via Time Machine, or CCC, SuperDuper, etc..). So I'd prefer a hardwired connection when transferring to the server--and a gigabit connection if possible. If Thunderbolt can work as an ethernet interface, then I'm sure a Ethernet TB card will be released.

    I believe the CPU in the MBAs will not be as powerful, as they need to meet the power requirements of the MBA, and also maintain extended battery life. So I'm sure the MBP's i7 will be more powerful than the MBA's i7. However, with the speed of the SSD, the difference may be negligible. But this is just a guess, I'm in no ways a Mac/CPU expert--just seems logical from what I've read :)
     
  19. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    The RAM is soldered onto the logic board. This has been done to save space as MBA's aim is to be as small as possible. You will have to make a few compromises when buying an ultraportable, one of them is very limited upgradeability.

    [​IMG]

    RAM is highlighted with yellow.

    Already in the works:

    http://www.sonnettech.com/news/nab2011/
     
  20. definitive thread starter macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #20
    so with the new cpu's just being announced, how do you think they'll compare to the mbp's?
     
  21. ratzzo macrumors 6502a

    ratzzo

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    Madrid
    #21
    Slightly,

    The MBP has different GPUs, more processing power (up to quad core i7), and much more upgradeability. The Air is much more portable and light, and has the advantage of having a good CPU couple with a SSD. You can always put a SSD on the MBP. It all boils down to preference, for the average user I believe the Air is an excellent choice over the MBP.
     
  22. definitive thread starter macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #22
    I was mainly interested in the 13" MBP. The base version offers a higher clocked CPU, but I'm wondering if the newly announced CPU's will be of equal performance (either the base or top CPU) to the base 13" MPB.
     
  23. Yumunum macrumors 65816

    Yumunum

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.
    #23
    I'm really curious now too. I'm looking to buy either the high end MBA or the base 13" MBP.

    I used to have a 2010 base model 13" MBP and it had JUST enough power to run some cool games that had pretty nice graphics. I need my next computer to at least match the graphics power I got from that machine. Would one of the new MBAs do that? Is there a difference between the integrated GPU in the Air and the integrated GPU in the base 13" MBP?
     
  24. fibrizo macrumors 6502

    fibrizo

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #24
    I owned the 2010 base model 13 inch mbp and the new 2011 base model 13 inch mbp. In terms of gaming performance, it's a step backwards. CPU much faster, GPU a bit slower. Ivy bridge (next iteration) should bring it to parity with the 2010 mbp in terms of GPU.

    The GPU on airs will likely be slower, as they will have a base freq of 350mhz vs 650 for the mbp. they will all technically OC to 1.2ghz, but given the smaller TDP and thermal envelope, they will likely not be able to put out the numbers as long as the MBP.
     
  25. reclusive46 macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    Turbo boost should be ok considering it doesn't have 320m. Should be able to handle it for a little while.
     

Share This Page